// Internet Duct Tape

It’s All About You — Reader Survey Results

Posted in Building a Community, Request for Comments, Technology by engtech on January 29, 2007

Two weeks ago I participated in the International Delurking Week and asked my regular readers to fill out a survey and post some thoughts about where my site has been going, and where they’d like for it to go in the future. Here are the results.

3 Times Out of 4

… you have dangly bits downstairs. Feel free to use the comments on this post as a pick up joint. Ladies — odds are in your favour. I think that ratio might be high for a tech blog, and I’m blaming it on the cat.

Men versus Women versus Cats

… and yes, I did purposely rotate the graph so that it didn’t look like Pac-man.

More Than 4 Times Out of 5

… you’re over the legal drinking age in the States. If you print out this post and ferment it for a month you’ll get a hell of a buzz.

How Old Are You? Reader's Age

7 Times Out of 10

… you have a blog of your own. This wasn’t that surprising to me — I write about blogging a lot. I also have a theory that the majority of people who regularly read blogs either have one of their own or at least try it.

Most of your are bloggers

3 Times Out of 5

… you’re using RSS to read the website. It would be interesting to cross-reference this to the number of readers who also blog. I have a theory that RSS is mostly used by bloggers — everyone else doesn’t know/care what it is.

RSS versus Email versus Website

Response Time

This one was *very* interesting. Within 24 hours the majority of readers who would respond to this survey did. Within 72 hours 95% of the total responses were reached.

Reader Response Time

The pie charts were done using Adobe Illustrator and this guide from Modern Life is Rubbish.

Link Love

The following readers mentioned their blogs in the comment section of the survey. If you missed out, drop a comment with your blog name on this post and I’ll update it to include you. The list is done in the oh-so-scientific first to last submitted format. Except for Beats Entropy which I jumped to the top of the list as a means of shameless promotion and because they know where I live.

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. envec69 said, on January 29, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Interesting that 23% of your readership are females, specially considering your tech-oriented topic. I guess that is a trend we can not ignore in any segment nowadays.

  2. envec69 said, on January 29, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    also, now I see why you commented over Daily Blog Tips mentioning your 3% of email subscribers ;)

  3. Webomatica said, on January 29, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Do you think the cuteness of cat has any influence over the types of readers you have? :)

  4. mpb said, on January 29, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    envec69

    Interesting that 23% of your readership are females, specially considering your tech-oriented topic. I guess that is a trend we can not ignore in any segment nowadays.

    I think the trend for over half of humans to be female, but far fewer to be included in discussions, is too long ignored. Fortunately, //engtech is progressive, i.e., doesn’t write down, for male readers only.

  5. roy said, on January 29, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    The only reason I keep coming back to this blog is to perhaps one day, read a blog posting by engtech’s cat…and the occasional technical article ;)

  6. engtech said, on January 29, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    That’s kind of sad if I’m progressive because I don’t write down to female audiences. As a guy I keep thinking we’re past the point where that is progressive — but I know that isn’t true.

    One thing I have been guilty of in the past is thinking that my audience was teenage guys and including sexually suggestive images. The survey has shown that they are very much in the minority.

  7. mpb said, on January 29, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    I knew that comma wouldn’t convey subtle dig at those who write write down and thereby attract a male audience.

    You don’t write down, therefore you do appeal to women.

  8. A.J. Valliant said, on January 30, 2007 at 12:26 am

    We do where know where you live, and have ruthless robots at our command.

  9. engtech said, on January 30, 2007 at 12:39 am

    They’re not as ruthless as they are uncouth.

  10. Ilya Lichtenstein said, on January 30, 2007 at 2:42 am

    I’m just curious- now that you know your audience better, do you anticipate changing the content or style of your posts to better write to that audience? It’s the chicken or the egg question: You can change your writing style to fit what you assume are the whims of your audience, but you got that audience in the first place with your original writing style.

  11. engtech said, on January 30, 2007 at 4:24 am

    Good question.

    My only real plan for changing in content/style was to be more user-focused / useful information, and to try and put more of my sense of humour into the site — also to post less, but of higher quality. Looking back into my archives a lot of posts have just been links to other content with minimal commentary. That’s satisfied by asides / my linkblog now.

    I still think I write about blogging too much, but given that over 70% of my readers also blog that may be more helpful than an hindrance. What will be more interesting is how this changes over time. I’ll probably do this 1-2 times a year in the future and compare to past results.

  12. Kristin said, on February 02, 2007 at 12:38 am

    I don’t think I would have found your blog without the blogging tools ( in spite of being a female reader who should care more about your cat ;-) )

    Oh, the name of the other site of mine is called One Woman Show – that unstable thing is my tagline (note to self: fix SEO line on homepage)

  13. […] who stop by your blog because they found it through a search engine or a social bookmarking site. They’re the ones who promote your articles, and the ones who’ll let you know when you’re falling off […]

  14. […] Reader Survey – Finding Out Who’s Reading My Blog […]

  15. […] Secret to Finding the Perfect Valentine’s Day Gift for the Person You Love Given that 77% of my readers are guys, I thought I’d give them the subtle heads-up that Valentine’s Day is less than two […]


Comments are closed.