// Internet Duct Tape

New tech meme: How to become a Venture Capitalist

Posted in Links, Technology, Workhacks and High Tech Life by engtech on November 30, 2006

guyGuy Kawasaki brings it home and writes about what he knows with a piece about becoming a venture capitalist and an online survey to see if you have the chops. Could this be a new quiz meme for startup tech bloggers?

It won’t really take off because it doesn’t tell me which Star Wars VC I most closely resemble.

Regardless, here’s my advice to all the Biffs, Sebastians, Brooks, and Tiffanys who want to be kingmakers: “Venture capital is something to do at the end of your career, not the beginning. It should be your last job, not your first one.”

vcat test results

College graduates wanting to become VCs furthers the Bubble 2.0 meme that Silicon Valley has entered another tech bubble (read my first post on it: “The Internet has no clothes“). Because most tech startups aren’t aiming for IPO, some people are saying that Google is the canary in the mineshaft this time around.

>> The Venture Capitalist Test
>> VCAT Test (direct link, nothing to do with SONET virtual concatenations)

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sebastian Prooth said, on November 30, 2006 at 8:06 pm

    This is a really interesting post…and to think, they’re talking to me ;)

    No, but really, I would love to become a VC, I would love to have the money to be a VC, thats for sure!

    Great post.. -Sebastian.

  2. engtech said, on November 30, 2006 at 10:44 pm

    On the wild chance that some MBA summer intern is interested in working at a private equity firm on the eastern seaboard:

    http://www.pehub.com/wordpress/?p=251

  3. raincoaster said, on December 01, 2006 at 5:36 pm

    I’m the Emperor Palpatine. Oh, wait, that’s a different quiz. Hang on, I think it works both ways; I could be Bill Gates!

  4. raincoaster said, on December 01, 2006 at 5:40 pm

    Hey, I got 33! Can I borrow your address book? If I get a job I promise to buy you a nice dinner and a Segway.

  5. engtech said, on December 01, 2006 at 7:21 pm

    But those segways are life endangering! You’re trying to kill me, aren’t you?

  6. jaybird said, on December 04, 2006 at 10:27 pm

    If you die, can I have your blog?

  7. engtech said, on December 05, 2006 at 3:54 am

    My will explicitly states that if I die a team of ninjas will hunt you down, but you assuredly had something to do with it.

  8. raincoaster said, on December 07, 2006 at 12:22 pm

    If you die, can I have your Technorati ranking? Ninjas? Kewl. I love a man in uniform.

  9. born to be… « raincoaster said, on December 07, 2006 at 12:56 pm

    […] Got to the test via engtech, whom I owe a dinner if I get scooped by some big firm as a result of this incredible aptitude of mine. I said I’d buy him a Segway too, but now he thinks I’m trying to kill him. Honestly! As if I’d do something like that; I already know Technorati rankings cannot be bequeathed, because I looked it up. […]

  10. jaybird said, on December 07, 2006 at 7:52 pm

    The problem with having sex with ninjas is that they never call the next day.

  11. Dustin said, on January 05, 2007 at 8:47 am

    I took this a while back and got a 29. Hurrah for me.


Comments are closed.