// Internet Duct Tape

//engtech goes More Minimal

Posted in Internet Duct Tape News, Technology by engtech on September 01, 2006

Problogger.net had some great links to articles from a blog called More Minimal. The articles were entitled making your blog more readable and minimalism in blogging. I was nodding my head as I read them. A few days later I was having a discussion over drinks with my co-conspirators on the design of Beats Entropy and the subject of minimalism and reducing clutter came up again.

In my efforts to make information more accessible, I had instead made it more cluttered. Information overload came into play. People get overwhelmed and start putting on their blinders. Much like how writing needs “no unnecessary words“, the blog template around the content shouldn’t distract from it.

As well as reducing the number of sidebar links, I’m getting into the habit of putting “Read more” links on all posts older than one day to minimize what is displayed on the front page.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike said, on September 05, 2006 at 5:08 pm

    Have you checked what it looks like in IE 6 the nav bar is below everything. In FF it looks great. :)

  2. engtech said, on September 05, 2006 at 6:37 pm

    Weird. Did that just start happening?

  3. Mike said, on September 05, 2006 at 9:01 pm

    Um, well. I don’t know. I’m not the tech guru around here.

  4. engtech said, on September 05, 2006 at 10:52 pm

    Then who are you, mike?

    Who. are. you.

    I think I know what the problem is (an unclosed HTML tag somewhere that Firefox is ok with but IE chokes over), but I haven’t had the time to pin it down.


Comments are closed.