// Internet Duct Tape

5 Times 40 Things

Posted in Contests, Technology by engtech on March 29, 2007

You Could Win a $20 Amazon Certificate or $15 WP Upgrade Credits

blog hand gang sign “Five Things” is almost over. There are three more days to enter/contribute (rules here).

As a bonus the first ten people on who comment on this post saying “I want free hosting” will get a WordPress hosted accounts from wordly.org. It’s a new paid WordPress hosting service with 2 gigabytes storage, 6 gigabytes monthly traffic, and a free .org or .com domain (is that a free domain name? or something like engtech.wordly.org? I’m not sure)

Perhaps Daniel from jaspoid could leave a better spiel in the comments. Some questions: does it include a domain name? can users upload their own themes/plugins? any limitations on ads?

So Far…

Let me know in the comments if you’re missing from this list!

  1. 5 Reasons why you should read engtech” by Cory O’Brien (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  2. 5 Reasons why blogging is better than sex with me” by engtech (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  3. 5 Reasons why I go to sleep after midnight” by Sam dela Cruz (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  4. The Raincoaster List” by raincoaster (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  5. Five Books I wouldn t be caught dead reading inpublic” by loricat (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  6. Five Reasons Why I Won t Let My Friends Take Shirtless Pictures of Me and Then Post It On TheirBlog” by addmonkey (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  7. 5 Reasons why I can’t read engtech” by sulz (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  8. 5 books that changed yourlife” by azahar (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  9. Five of the best sexy bits inbooks” by loricat (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  10. Five ReBoot Episodes for the NonBooter” by joy (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  11. 5 Ways to use the PowerPoint master slide” by joy (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  12. 5 Regrets” by ahouseholdkate (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  13. Five Things I Plan to Never Do Again” by Robert (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  14. Five Tips for Running Meetings” by Robert (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  15. Five Things Five Movies So Bad They re Good” by webomatica (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  16. Five Tips for a Frugal Spring Break” by ispf (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  17. Five Things About New Love That ScareMe” by kina1964 (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  18. 5 talents I d like tohave” by azahar (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  19. Five Inventions I’d Really Like to See” by lori (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  20. Five Things I love about beingIndian” by nita (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  21. Add a Digg This button to your site in 5 Steps” by rexted (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  22. Friday 5 Five places I want to visit before Idie” by golden lady (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  23. 5 Things I miss about B School” by aditya (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  24. 5 Things I wish Google could find” by jalaj (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  25. 5 things to do in the weekend” by aditya (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  26. Five Of The Coolest TTRH Intros” by Rory (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  27. Five excuses that you probably shouldn t use when stopped by the police” by Scott (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  28. 5 things” by Alejna (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  29. 5 Things To Do In San Francisco” by J (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  30. If You Were Only Allowed Five Songs ” by Rory (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  31. Five songs that hold my memories” by Dave Olson (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  32. 5 seriously funny deathscenes” by Alejna (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  33. Five joejobs” by TheShortFatKid (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  34. Five favorite crime fiction writers” by YTSL (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  35. Five favorite restaurants” by YTSL (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  36. Five Curses forSpammers” by MyLifeWithIT (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  37. 5 things that make me feelold” by azahar (Save this post at del.icio.us)
  38. My top six life goals” by Dave Olson (Save this post at del.icio.us)

48 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael said, on March 29, 2007 at 4:58 am

    This is a great idea engtech….

  2. Michael said, on March 29, 2007 at 4:59 am

    oh by the way I want free hosting

  3. Chris Rohde said, on March 29, 2007 at 5:50 am

    I most definitely want free hosting.

    And I love engtech, so it all works out.

  4. loricat said, on March 29, 2007 at 6:20 am

    Ditto…I could totally get all geeky with free hosting, so yes, I want free hosting!

  5. Miko Dela Cruz said, on March 29, 2007 at 6:49 am

    I want free hosting

  6. Michael Sync said, on March 29, 2007 at 7:03 am

    I want free hosting

  7. thepearlady said, on March 29, 2007 at 7:21 am

    Oh my goodness…I almost forgot about the contest. What fabulous entries so far.
    I want free hosting, too. Ad, I’m wondering of the answers Daniel will give to those question(s).
    Off to see the rest of 5 things entries now. :)

  8. engtech said, on March 29, 2007 at 7:22 am

    That’s 6 so far. 4 more available.

  9. utakGAGO said, on March 29, 2007 at 8:06 am

    I also want free hosting!!!

  10. Cat said, on March 29, 2007 at 8:10 am

    That’s one way to get many commenters on your blog. ;)

    I have to say I enjoyed all the posts I read. Some very good entries.

  11. Jalaj P. Jha said, on March 29, 2007 at 8:41 am

    Hey I want free hosting too…

  12. brVincce said, on March 29, 2007 at 8:53 am

    ei, win-win, that’s great!

  13. brVincce said, on March 29, 2007 at 8:54 am

    of course, i want free hosting!

  14. azahar said, on March 29, 2007 at 10:05 am

    damn! too late… :(

  15. azahar said, on March 29, 2007 at 10:06 am

    ps
    Number 38 is just dragonqueen linking to my ‘feel old’ entry, it isn’t an actual entry.

  16. Ashish C. said, on March 29, 2007 at 10:30 am

    I want free hosting! [Only 9 have requested it in their comments as far I see it! I have a chance! :D]

  17. Ashish C. said, on March 29, 2007 at 10:33 am

    Okay just that I was excited to get my comment up so I might sound rude in the previous comment. :D Been trying to do that on my phone for two hours coz there was no electricity but it wouldn’t let me. :) Azahar had the chance… only Nine people say “I want free hosting.” but still I could be wrong.

    Nice theme btw, my first time here.

  18. brVincce said, on March 29, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    well, the tenth and the eleventh are the same person, i hope ’twas valid, hahaha! I want free hosting :D

  19. azahar said, on March 29, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    I presume my comment would be understood as meaning that I wanted free hosting (seems kind of obvious to me).

  20. Daniel Gr said, on March 29, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    Ok. Maybe I’ve been a little too mysterious to figure out! ;)

    ‘kay.. Wordly.org will be its own blog platform in the future (hopefully, I can release a “beta” in April) just like WordPress.com, TypePad or Blogger – and will host both paid and free blogs.

    But until then I thought it’d be sad to leave the servers just standing empty so I’ve started to sell really cheap WordPress hosting accounts and now give away some as goodwill/promotion.

    Perhaps Daniel from jaspoid could leave a better spiel in the comments. Some questions: does it include a domain name? can users upload their own themes/plugins? any limitations on ads?

    It includes a free domain name (which I pay the first year for), users can upload their own themes and plugins, and there are no limitations on ads.

    Users get an FTP account, and unlimited email forwards and subdomains on request, and the accounts come preinstalled with the latest full version of WordPress and the latest K2 theme.

    Anyway,
    I’m not going to be too picky here, so everyone before me here in the comments will get free hosting. Just send me your desired domain (.org/.com) to d@wordly.org and I’ll set it up ASAP.

    Thanks,

    Daniel Gr
    wordly.org

  21. Daniel Gr said, on March 29, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    “.net” is OK too.

  22. Miko Dela Cruz said, on March 29, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    Whose name will be registered in the domain registration. Is it ours or yours? And if it is ours, do we need to provide you all of necessary information?

  23. Daniel Gr said, on March 29, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Good question. For the ease of it, I’ll just register them in jaspoid’s name (my company), and if you want full control of it yourself some day I’ll just transfer it to you, for free.

  24. brVince said, on March 29, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    Thanks for this! Thanks Daniel

  25. engtech said, on March 29, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    Thanks Daniel for making this offer.

  26. engtech said, on March 29, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    @azahar: Thank you for the correction on #38

  27. Daniel Gr said, on March 29, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    We’ll have to do it again some time ;)

  28. Miko Dela Cruz said, on March 29, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    I got mine. Thanks!

  29. Bridlepath said, on March 29, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    Five famous black horses

    1. The Black Stallion

    The Black Stallion needs no introduction. The fiery hero of Walter Farley’s beloved books, he was portrayed by the Arab stallion Cass Ole in the movies. Generations of horse fanatics have devoured the stories and passed the…

  30. defrostindoors said, on March 29, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Five famous black horses

  31. defrostindoors said, on March 29, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    My apologies; here is the correct link:
    Five famous black horses

  32. Michael said, on March 29, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    Thank ya!!!

  33. brVince said, on March 30, 2007 at 4:13 am

    Thanks also to engtech, I got mine too! :D

  34. Hello world! at kutangbato.com said, on March 30, 2007 at 4:30 am

    […] to Engtech for introducing wordly.org. I got a free domain name and hosting and it is now called, […]

  35. Michael Sync said, on March 30, 2007 at 11:22 am

    Thanks a lot for giving free hosting. I’m Michael Sync, one of first 10 people who comment on Engtech’s post.
    My blog is http://michaelsync.net which is hosted in wordpress.com. (I have Domain Upgrade so that I have my owned domain instead of michaelsync.wordpress.com)
    I have a few questions that I like to ask.

    1.Will the free hosting that we got be the same as other shared web hosting service? (then, we will have full control of our blog. (eg: customizing wordpress or php code, uploading other softwares like bbPress or phpBB and etc)

    2. How many domains I can have? (I have my owned domain. Now, I got new free domain. So, I’d like to get http://michaelsync.com which can redirect to http://michaelsync.net. ** http://michaelsync.net should be primary domain. )

    3. Can I transfer my domain name (http://michaelsync.net)?

    Thanks.

  36. engtech said, on March 30, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Hi Michael,

    try contacting him directly at d@wordly.org — might be faster. Also, might want to give the service a try for a couple of weeks before moving your domain name.

  37. Michael Sync said, on March 30, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Thanks. engtech..
    I will mail him..

  38. Daniel Gr said, on March 30, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    If I still haven’t replied to someone it’s because the mail didn’t get through. If so, please try resend. Thanks.

  39. Michael Sync said, on March 31, 2007 at 6:49 am

    Thanks. I got mine.. :) Thank you so much. engtech and daniel.

  40. […] through Engtech. It’ was Miko who convinced me to post a comment on a certain entry of Engtech to win a free domain name for one year and a free hosting plan. I just did it, nothing will be […]

  41. janus3185 said, on April 01, 2007 at 10:30 am

    yayks! free hosting! :D

    I want one!

  42. ish said, on April 01, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    I think you’re not getting my e-mails Daniel.I tried resending them too but no replies.

  43. Daniel Gr said, on April 01, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    I’m sorry, Janus, but the giveaway is over for this time. But $9 for a year is almost free? ;)

    Yeah, sorry Ish for taking so long. I took yesterday and half of today off because the weather was so nice! But I’ll be working for a month straight now, 300+ hours :D

  44. Jalaj P. Jha said, on April 04, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Thanks Daniel and //engtech ! for the free site. Next weekend would be too busy, Now I have two to look after!

  45. Ashirwad-project.org « Jalaj P. Jha said, on April 04, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    […] Thanks to Daniel of Wordly.org for proving one year free hosting and //engtech for communicating this offer, I have a new platform for my ashirwad project at […]

  46. vic2r said, on April 05, 2007 at 10:35 am

    I’ve been looking for a free host and domain for a long time! I have lots of thoughts to be shared. Please give me one.

  47. Neil said, on April 08, 2007 at 9:14 am

    I want free hosting too!


Comments are closed.

