// Internet Duct Tape

My favorite entries from Contest #1

Posted in Contests, Technology by engtech on March 14, 2007

blog hand gang signLast month I held my first contest / group writing project. It was limited to wordpress.com hosted bloggers and 23 people participated. These are my favorite posts of the bunch. It being my first contest, the topics were on the schizophrenic side without a common thread: why do you blog, what do you like/hate about Valentine’s Day or review something tech. That’s my fault, not theirs.

I’m running a second contest / group writing project where you could win an Amazon gift certificate or WordPress.com upgrade credits.

These are my seven favorites from the contest entries. Listed in order of submission, with a preview snippet.


Neomeme: “I blog to capture the moments between wakefulness and sleep. I have always had ideas lying in bed, trying to fall asleep, because, in the twilight moments of the mind, what can you do but think? I would bolt out of bed, grab a pen and scribble furiously on tiny post-its, because that’s all I have readily available at my desk. At first, the ideas were random, stories, poems, DaVincian contraptions and bizarre insects, journeys in brain crevices.But, for the past couple years, undoubtedly influenced by my reading (I devour tech blogs voraciously), my half-asleep ideas became more focused, more polished. Now, they are plans for startups, tech ideas, analysis of social networks, tech memes and the blogosphere, hacks and gadgets.”

Sulz: “I like belonging to WordPress. I am often participating in the WordPress.com Forums, helping out on support issues where and when I can. I like that the people there are generally friendly and polite if you are. I like that I am a regular and the other regulars recognise me and I them.”

Ahouseholdkate: “We take [Valentine’s Day] back. We celebrate by having sex (or not, if that’s your thing) in meaningful encounters that we will proudly recap to our grandchildren in more and more detail as they grow older. We embrace our friends – and if we’re feeling generous and ready for it, even our enemies. We rejoice in the colored glasses that love encourages us to wear and we simply make the world – for one minute, one hour, one evening, one day – a nicer place to call home.”

Vernonia: “So far, i personally feel that the entries are mostly on why do they maintain their blogs, instead of why they started the blog. It may be the same for most people, but it isn’t the same case for me.It all started from a story about a girl, with a lot of pride, even more passion, but very little courage. We shall name her, Chloe; since using a third person would make it easier for me to spill the beans.”

raincoaster: “Do you remember when you were in elementary school and in English class once a week they would write five topics on the board and you would have to pick one of the topics and write a story about it? (oh, and also how they would give you lists of all kinds of different words you were supposed to learn {although I always wondered and worried, secretly, that if they knew I already knew those words they would penalize me in some way, so I played dumb. I would rule in a concentration camp!} and then use in a sentence? Well being literalminded-like, I used to use them all in one gargantumungous sentence, the Sentence That Wouldn’t Die!, the Energizer Bunny of sentences, and that used to piss my teachers off no end but they never did tighten up the wording of the assignment, so what’s with that, eh? I ask you) But quite a lot of the time I wouldn’t like any of the story subjects listed and even might have had a story or two that I wanted to write anyway and thought, like any good, lazy person, why should I write two including one I don’t want when I can write one that I do want instead?Indeed.”

Longstride: “For those of you unfamiliar with the concept, an aggregator (or newsreader) brings you the web on your terms. Let’s look back at plain old, print newspapers. You read the Chicago Tribune, the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. And they show up at your door everyday. All the news you want, right?Well, now imagine that each night somebody clips out the articles you really care about and groups them by topic. Then they paste them into one paper, resize all the fonts so they match, and take away virtually all of the ads. If that weren’t enough, they also take letters from your relatives, the latest strip from Calvin and Hobbes, search results on Google and that auction on eBay you’ve been keeping your eye on and roll all that into your morning paper. How much would you pay for that kind of service?You couldn’t afford it! But with RSS feeds and a reliable news aggregator you can get it for free.”


collectingtokens: ” I don’t remember when our relationship went sour, mine and Valentine’s Day. I don’t think we had a fight. And Valentine’s Day didn’t exactly run out on me. I think it’s more that we just grew apart as I got older.Elementary school days passed into junior high days, and Valentine’s Day stopped bringing me those special treats. No more craft projects or bags full of valentines. The little candy hearts lost their magic.Those were awkward times.”


But who cares what my favorite posts were? I want to hear what your favorites are. Either link to them from a blog post or vote for your favorites here by saving their post to del.icio.us.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. vernonia said, on March 14, 2007 at 11:06 am

    hi. Thanks for choosing my post as one of your favourite posts. =) just a small thing though, you had my name written wrongly; it’s supposed to be vernonia. (not veronica)

  2. engtech said, on March 14, 2007 at 11:29 am

    Me stupid. Fixed. :)

  3. sulz said, on March 14, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    wow, so flattered i am! xie xie (surely your girlfriend know this one even if you don’t? :P )

  4. ahouseholdkate said, on March 15, 2007 at 4:27 am

    I’m with sulz. Totally flattered. Now I just need to get back to writing!

  5. vernonia said, on March 15, 2007 at 10:05 am

    no prob =P. thanks again.

  6. raincoaster said, on March 16, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    My favorite? Why, by amazing coincidence it is my own. Funny how often that happens.

    Also, flattered 3.0.

  7. Ilya Lichtenstein said, on March 17, 2007 at 2:06 am

    Thanks so much for liking my writing! Posts like these are a great way for me(and others I’m sure) to discover high-quality new blogs- keep them going!

  8. alejna said, on March 17, 2007 at 6:47 am

    Thanks for posting your favorites. And in particular for including my post in them! It’s a great motivator. Now I’ll have to take advantage of that gift to procrastinors you gave in the form of a deadline extension. (“Deadline extension”…such a magical phrase…)


Comments are closed.

