// Internet Duct Tape

National Engineering Week

Posted in Links, Programming and Software Development, Technology by engtech on February 20, 2007

Every blogger knows that when you put your email address on your About Me page you get a certain amount of “press release” spam from people who want you to check out their project or site and write about it. This often creates something like the over justification effect where if I had discovered it myself I might have written about it, but because someone is asking me I will put it off and put it off.

I seem to have gone full circle recently to the point where I have often been getting press releases of stuff I find interesting and germane to the subjects I usually blog about.

Case in point: February 18th to 24th is Engineer’s Week (don’t worry, *nobody* got me anything for it). MathMovesU is featuring an engineer each day of the week and is offering daily math contests with prizes.

Daily Prizes

  • Walkie Talkies
  • Remote Control Rocket
  • $75 Gift Certificate to Toys R Us
  • Remote Control Car

Grand Prizes

  • 30GB iPOD
  • Lego Mindstorms Robot

The contest is open to residents of the US between the age of 10 to 14. You do not have to get the correct answer to enter the contest, and because of US legislature you can enter just by sending your name to a mail address.

Comments Off on National Engineering Week

