// Internet Duct Tape

Technorati Top 3000 and the Neighbour of the Beast

Posted in Internet Duct Tape News, Technology by engtech on February 13, 2007

technorati_number_of_the_beast.png

Thanks for the all the links, guys and girls.

Here’s a list of everyone who has linked to me by freshness, and everyone who has linked by authority (not as interesting). Here’s a list of the last 130 readers who have MyBlogLog accounts.

I’ve celebrated by redesigning (well, tweaking) the site based on feedback.

  • adjusted the text so that it is readable at 640×480 without having to horizontally scroll
  • removed my del.icio.us daily links (I have another idea for them)
    • the weekly post will keep happening on saturdays
  • cleaned up the sidebar
  • cleaned up the sidebar’s sidebar (Only displays in Firefox at 1024×768 or greater)
  • added a splash page at http://internetducttape.com that gives some direction to first time visitors
  • moved “top posts” and “most recent posts” from the sidebar to the bottom bar
  • changed the summary posts page to have the title: “//engtech – blogging, how-tos, tech news, and reviews” for SEO
  • changed one of the top “main category” from digest to comic
  • added “minor categories” for movies and comic

There’s no doubt about it. I’m a complicator when it comes to technology and I can’t help continually tweak the design of the site even though it probably looked better back then.

Almost forgot — big thank you’s to the follow for their recent feedback:

I’m still really impressed that Webomatica made MyCatBlogLog. It’s amazing to see someone make something this awesome out of a half-baked idea you had after drinking too much coffee.

Only one more day for that group writing project / contests for wordpress.com bloggers… I’ll be posting details of the next contest on tuesday or wednesday.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dustin said, on February 13, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    Congrats.

  2. joy said, on February 13, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    Yay! Top 3,000. Good job, engtech. I really like the redesign, too… I guess I should have said that earlier.

  3. engtech said, on February 13, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    I’m not expecting any compliments on the design… this is more to troll for feedback on what else is wrong with it. :)

  4. raincoaster said, on February 14, 2007 at 6:12 am

    Congrats. I broke 20k, fwiw. :D

  5. raincoaster said, on February 14, 2007 at 6:12 am

    Well, SOMETHING is broken, because I was supposed to be commenting on a totally different post!

  6. raincoaster said, on February 14, 2007 at 6:14 am

    Okay, never mind me. I get disoriented easily. The comments are in the right place, now if only I could find my brain.

    How do you NOT see the splash page every time, though? It’s a bit tedious having to click through (I’m lazy as well as stupid).

  7. engtech said, on February 14, 2007 at 6:41 am

    You could bookmark https://engtech.wordpress.com/tag/main

    :)

  8. Webomatica said, on February 14, 2007 at 9:14 am

    Nice job on cracking 3,000! Good redesign, too.

  9. Daniel said, on February 14, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Congrats man, the design is cool, I mean even if it sucked it is very innovative and unique, making people remember it!

  10. brahnamin said, on February 15, 2007 at 1:10 am

    a thousand thank yous for the new bookmark ::

    ….index
    ….page
    ….presenting
    ….too
    ….many
    ….choices
    ….for
    ….feeble
    ….brain….

    blip blip blip booooooooop
    …/\…/\…/\……………..

  11. […] Technorati Top 3000 and the Neighbour of the Beast I hit the top 3000! I’m already in the top 2500 since I posted this […]


Comments are closed.

