// Internet Duct Tape

It’s All About Me — Or Is It?

Posted in Asides, Becoming a Better Blogger, Technology by engtech on January 19, 2007

Shirley posted a question that I thought was worthy of a post all to itself to answer.

“Hello, Eng.

I was reading your post concerning “How not to be a successful blogger“.

My question: If you consider yourself a less than “good” blogger, how do you explain your receiving 3,000 to 6,000 page views each day, and how did you arrive at having a spot in the top 4000 at Technorati?”

This image has absolutely nothing to do with this post.The “How not to be a successful blogger” was partially satire of common blogging advice, but also a recognition of why I will never be in the Technorati Top 100. In that post I listed the “things I got right”:

  • Always using informative headlines.
  • Writing with search engines in mind.
  • Using mixed media by incorporating images and video.
  • Breaking up text into paragraphs, headings and bullets.
  • Honing my skills at writing viral/linkbait content.
  • Harnessing social bookmarking.
  • Linking back to older posts.

This accounts for the level of success I have had even though I’m not a great writer by any means. The large number of hits mostly come from writing several “how to guides” that feature prominently in search engines, and from trying to write posts that a) help people and b) people will be interested in linking to.

What’s more important than “hits per day” is the number of regular readers. My 2007 blogging goal is to increase the number of people who find value in the site and interact with it. My recent reader poll indicated that I have around 110 readers who are “engaged” (to the level that they would actively respond to a questionnaire — pretty pie charts forthcoming). That’s the only metric that makes any sense.

One step towards my goal for 2007 is interacting / having more of a dialog with my readers. Instead of participating in memes I’ll be hosting a monthly blogging contest where I ask questions, and people answer them on their own blog. It’s partially a mechanism for generating traffic to //engtech, but it’s also a way to connect with the people who invest time reading what I write.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Shirley said, on January 19, 2007 at 6:47 am

    Hey Eng.

    Thanks for the mention and the link. Hope your thousands scat over my way.

    Your list is a good one, and I appreciate your advice. I’d like to do a survey too, but I don’t think I know how to set up the questionaire. Maybe I’ll give it a try later.

    I’m still unclear as to how either of your articles–the original one that was picked up by Digg–and this one indicates why you will never be in Technorati’s top 100.

    Love your picture here.

    Blessings and joy!

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  2. raincoaster said, on January 19, 2007 at 9:14 am

    If you think quality writing is required to be in the top 100, you have never read Perez Hilton.

    Just don’t forget us little people when you make it!

  3. The Rooster said, on January 23, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    Like you I also place more emphasis on my subscribed readership. I think it is far more reflective as to how many people “value” and care about what you say.

    I would rather have 100 subscribed readers and 10 hits a day than 5000 hits a day and 10 RSS readers.

  4. engtech said, on January 23, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    Yeah, it’s funny how RSS works because subscribers usually *don’t* read the blog and contribute to hits.

    That’s one thing I love about FeedBurner, how you can add “feed flare” and put things like “add to delicious”, “digg this” and “add a comment” to the bottom of a feed post and it is a live update that shows the numbers of commenters/diggs/saved/links/etc.


Comments are closed.

