// Internet Duct Tape

Reader Poll for Regular Readers — Please delurk and respond

Posted in Request for Comments, Technology by engtech on January 11, 2007

This is a post intended to find out some information on who reads my blog. Please stop lurking and take the time to answer these four very quick questions. It will take less than 30 seconds to complete. I’d like everyone who is a regular reader to answer.

Click the link that best answers the question. Links will open in a new window. Sorry for the lack of humourous answers, I’m going for accuracy. :)

Q1: Look down. Are you:

  1. Male
  2. Female

Results

Q2: How old are you?

  1. 21 or younger
  2. 22 to 29
  3. 30 to 49
  4. 50 or older

Results

Q3: Do you have a blog of your own?

  1. I do not have my own (0)
  2. I have one blog (1)
  3. I have more than one blog (2+)

Results

Q4: How do you read //engtech?

  1. I read the website with my web browser
  2. I read the RSS subscription using a feed reader
  3. I read the email subscription using my email program

Results

(If you are not a subscriber you can subscribe using RSS or using email)

If you have your a blog of your own, please mention it in the comments.

Bonus question: What topics do you find most interesting?

Leave a comment.

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mpb said, on January 11, 2007 at 4:12 am

    If you have your a blog of your own, please mention it in the comments.
    Bonus question: What topics do you find most interesting?

    Depends on how one counts blogs–
    there were the early “let’s try this”, since migrated through to wordpress.com
    the “later try these they might be better” (they weren’t)

    Active ones, maybe 3 plus 3/2?
    There are the nonymous (because 1- there is an unsatisfied need for information, http://ykalaska.wordpress.com begun originally at http://ykalaska.uniblogs.org and 2– because I need a job and thought others might as well have the benefit of past projects http://13c4.wordpress.com. Its precedent is still active because it also helps forum questions from the edublogses http://cerebraloddjobs.edublogs.org (no one still hires the “overqualified” “thoughtful” or interdisciplinary)

    and the unnamed because being thoughtful about how the peedons are treated by the “self-entitled” isn’t safe in the US either (just one active)

    Flickr is not ready for prime blogtime yet, unfortunately. I’ve tried some work arounds combining wordpress.com, a Flickr set, and several feedreaders (I don’t want human readers and collaborators, i.e., commentators, to have to “register” first, especially with Yahoo, and spam is better with scrambled eggs on camping trips.) 23hq is poised in the wings.

    There’s an active QuickTopic, which is used as an archive of sorts for a small E-mail newslist.

    —————
    By the way, the 50+ keep hoping the Internet will catch up with them. Quinquagenarians would be the first computer generation.

    “Surfing is done on the breaking wave; never ahead of the curve.”

    I like your wordpress usability (practicality) stuff. And your accessibility, i.e. modesty (computer guys have evolved since the days when a computer jock was someone who hardwired). But the cat is tops.

  2. fakhriworld said, on January 11, 2007 at 9:22 am

    I have my personal blog: http://www.talatworld.wordpress.com
    and a tech blog: fakhriworld.wordpress.com

  3. NitinK said, on January 11, 2007 at 10:38 am

    What? Delurk is a word now? :-)

    Ok, I’ve answered your questions. My blog is: Software Abstractions.

    Based on the Results so far for the various questions, it appears that I’m literally an “average reader” of your blog – I fit the profile perfectly! :-) But maybe it’s early and the stats will change after many more votes.

  4. engtech said, on January 11, 2007 at 11:39 am

    It’s funny, I didn’t realize there was a “delurk” meme going on this week. I’ve been interested in doing this poll for a while because I wanted to find out what demographic this site appeals to for writing new content.

  5. carocat said, on January 11, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    That was an interesting survey. I guess I’m not your mainstream reader.

    Ah well, my blog can be found here.

  6. Cameron Turner said, on January 11, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    I have 2 main blogs and 1 I’m just starting up.

    Personal Stuff and an archive of off-site articles:
    http://www.camturner.com

    For my Book: Beginning Google Maps Applications in PHP and AJAX
    http://googlemapsbook.com

    Just starting: Professional Web Software Development
    http://blog.wecreate.com

    I hope you summarize the results and post another article about the outcome. I’m a typical reader apparently.. but will I still be “just average” by the time the polls are done?

  7. engtech said, on January 11, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    Yup! That’s the plan, to do some nice pie charts after 2 weeks or so have passed.

    And none of you are “average”

  8. roy said, on January 11, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Hi Engtech,

    I am your typical reader as well. RSS feed, male, 22-29 with one blog: http://beernut.ca/roy

  9. roy said, on January 11, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    Although I believe my blog, which I had to kill a few time in the late nineties, still has archives from as far as 2002. So perhaps another poll question could be:

    How long have you been writing a blog if you have one?
    4 years

  10. roy said, on January 11, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    oops. I used some angle brackets that wordpress gobbled up along with the rest of my post!

    *less than 1 year
    *1 to 2 years
    *3 to 4 years
    greater than 4 years

  11. goldscribe said, on January 11, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    I did’nt see a answer for blog link, I read your blog via the link on my blogroll, I don’t know if that is considered a feed…

    I totally enjoyed your guest piece Life in the Trenches.

    Topics I dig are anything to do with words,books,music and photos.

  12. zhayena said, on January 11, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    I enjoy reading most of your posts, – it’s only your “here’s a new toy (iPod etc) you can play with” posts that I don’t read as it doesn’t interest me that much.

    As for blogs; I have for the moment thursdayrants.org, kzkw.net and zhayena.wordpress.com that’s in English – I’ve got three Norwegians as well. – And that’s my personal blogs. And I still run this old fashion thing called websites ;-)

  13. timethief said, on January 12, 2007 at 4:26 am

    All of your blog posts interested me with the exception of those geared to Christmas product purchasing and this was because I don’t do the Christmas gift exchange thing.

    And I’m sure you can tell by your referrals how many times I’m here on your blog looking for information that helps others too (usually theme reviews). :)

    As for my own blogs all your readers have to do is click on my username here and the breadcrumb trail will be revealed for them to follow.

    Thanks for all the excellent research and writing you do engtech and thanks for your friendship and assistance on the forum. Most of the “hit whores” never help others but you and raincoaster are exceptions. It’s appreciated.

    Now as for that handsome cat who’s snoopervising you, well, when it comes to cute he can’t hold a candle to my chiqhuahuas. *lol* ;)

  14. baredfeetandteeth said, on January 12, 2007 at 8:37 am

    Hurah! I’m a girl, I’m unique! Well. nearly. I blog about random things, which by most accounts makes me no good, but I giver anyway.

  15. redSAID! said, on January 12, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    I did use the voting links to answer…

    Q1. Female – I seem to be in the minority
    Q2. 30-49 – 32 to be exact
    Q3. I have more than one blog – a personal blog on myspace and an illustration blog that I haven’t updated in a long time
    Q4. I read the RSS subscription using a feed reader – my blogroll
    QBonus. The tech geek articles are most interesting to me because I suppose I am a closet geek, but don’t tell anyone. OK?

  16. Daniel said, on January 13, 2007 at 12:22 am

    Blogbob.wordpress.com, about pop culture, in (Brazilian) Portuguese.

  17. alexei said, on January 13, 2007 at 4:12 am

    very interesred to read about how you have sync’d data, thanks

  18. A.J. Valliant said, on January 16, 2007 at 2:30 am

    I’m a man, and manly man by most accounts.
    I’m 30 years old, a Cancer…both astrologically and socially.
    I read this blog because because my best friend is a shut in and it’s the only way I can be sure he’s still alive.

  19. engtech said, on January 16, 2007 at 2:53 am

    Touché.

    I left the house on the weekend for a little bit, I swear.

  20. Dustin said, on January 18, 2007 at 1:09 am

    I kinda like the randomness of your topics. I am a Software Developer by trade, so it all hits home for me. If I think of something specific I will come back and tell you. For now, keep it up. Good day.

  21. qphayes said, on January 22, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    Q1 – Male
    Q2 – 35
    Q3 – yes – http://qplog.wordpress.com
    Q4 – I come directly to your site to read it.
    QBonus – I just switched to wordpress from Apple’s iWeb, and am trying to find out how to do things, and have found many tips from your site. Thank you.

  22. […] Survey Results Two weeks ago I participated in the International Delurking Week and asked my regular readers to fill out a survey and post some thoughts about where my site has been going, and where they’d like for it to go […]

  23. […] goal is to increase the number of people who find value in the site and interact with it. My recent reader poll indicated that I have around 110 readers who are “engaged” (to the level that they would […]


Comments are closed.

