// Internet Duct Tape

Five Things You Don’t Know About Me meme

Posted in Asides, Technology by engtech on December 15, 2006

aka the It’s Almost Christmas and I Don’t Feel Like Working meme. I got the idea from Matthew Ingram (although I wasn’t tagged).

  1. I used to take the same school bus as Tom Green.
  2. When I was a teenager I was part of the BBS scene and a member of iCE. That is when I first developed my need to be validated by strangers on the Internet.
  3. I am near-to-legally blind and deaf. I also exaggerate too much.
  4. I sometimes suffer from panic attacks. My father also has them and I never took them seriously until I started getting them myself.
  5. I was a Hall of Fame scripter for the Neverwinter Nights modding community and I seriously considered giving up my day job and joining Bioware, but Alberta is too damned cold.

And now I’m supposed to tag five people with it as part of some kind of chain lettery goodness. I’ll go with AJ, raincoaster, timethief, podz, and lloyd.

And one more thing you didn’t know about me: nothing gets my goat like abbreviating words to the point of illegibility. Save the vowels.

 

 

Update – The Responses

  1. AJ
  2. raincoaster
  3. timethief
  4. podz

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. heather said, on December 15, 2006 at 9:10 pm

    “And one more thing you didn’t know about me: nothing gets my goat like abbreviating words to the point of illegibility. Save the vowels.”

    LRN2TYPE!!

    Sorry. Couldn’t help myself. That’s my answer to that kind of ‘spelling’. ;)

  2. […] Engtech has tagged me so here goes: […]

  3. carocat said, on December 15, 2006 at 9:34 pm

    Thanks a lot. :)

    It really has been annoying me in the last years with more and more people using the txt spk. One day they all won’t know how to spell properly any more….

  4. Metro said, on December 15, 2006 at 11:03 pm

    Mme Metro has noticed the “txt spk” trend as well. More to the point, she’s noticed that such illiterates are apparently being accomodated by officialdom.

  5. engtech said, on December 15, 2006 at 11:52 pm

    One of the things about being in engineering is documentation (what I’m spending today reading) is piss-poor.

    Engineers do not write well. They use abbreviations to save three characters and completely hide the meaning of what they are talking about. Capitalization is inconsistent. No concept of headers, or even writing a one paragraph introduction to a document to let me know I found the correct one.

    So I have no doubt that all of those txt-ers have a bright future ahead of them.

  6. timethief said, on December 16, 2006 at 12:21 am

    I have now posted a response to your meme challenge here http://bloggersblurt.wordpress.com/2006/12/15/five-things-you-don%e2%80%99t-know-about-me-meme/

  7. roy said, on December 16, 2006 at 12:43 am

    “Engineers do not write well.”

    *ahem* I write well :) But yes, in general, they are horrible.

  8. Collin said, on December 16, 2006 at 1:00 am

    Woohoo! //Engtech joins the fight! :)

  9. engtech said, on December 16, 2006 at 1:06 am

    Engineers who don’t blog do not write well. :)

  10. engtech said, on December 16, 2006 at 1:13 am

    @collin: you’re going to have to take the fight to MySpace if you hope to make any inroads.

  11. carocat said, on December 16, 2006 at 1:24 am

    Well, let’s go at it slowly, although myspace? The thought of that place makes me shudder.

  12. Collin said, on December 16, 2006 at 2:36 am

    Yup, I hate (h8?) myspace too. I have an account and I have a number of contacts. Let’s convert them one txter at a time. :)

  13. kevinclosson said, on December 16, 2006 at 4:01 am

    Save the vowels…that’s a good one!

    OK, now I better go back to my blog about Oracle technology and make sure I’m saving the vowels!

    Nice blog you have here

  14. Lloyd Budd said, on December 16, 2006 at 4:40 am

    1. I don’t like these things
    2. I am a poor sport

  15. baredfeetandteeth said, on December 18, 2006 at 5:44 pm

    “Engineers do not write well.”

    Writers generally don’t engineer well either. In an effort to balance…something or other…my University introduced new requirements, forcing people to take a certain number of courses outside of their departments and faculties. Fortunately this wasn’t put into play until my third year, so I only ended up having to take one science : The rise and fall of the dinosaurs.

    Yes…I ramble.

  16. raincoaster said, on December 18, 2006 at 11:44 pm

    i h8 2 abrEvE8.

    Gimme a couple of days. No Inet at home, blogging on the run.

  17. engtech said, on December 19, 2006 at 12:54 am

    You must be going stir-crazy.

  18. A.J. Valliant said, on December 19, 2006 at 9:34 am

    http://beatsentropy.com/2006/12/19/five-things-you-dont-know-about-me-meme-for-engtech/

    Due to the fact I talk incesantly, and am wildy megomanical, my friends already know most things about me. I chose some stuff that would be new to internet folks.

  19. […] I generally avoid this sort thing but engtech is pretty helpful, and asks very little in return, so I will try and oblige him. While I tend to engage in a fair amount colorful storytelling, strategic misrepresentation, and out right lying on Beats Entropy, the following are actual true facts about the real life person: AJ Valliant. […]

  20. Thought Leadership said, on December 29, 2006 at 12:07 am

    Charity Tag Meme

    As a blogger, people may know you, but how good does anyone ever really know anyone? One way to get to know someone better is for them to talk about charities they support. What if bloggers were to go down a path of thinking about some of the peo ……

  21. Jon Barry said, on January 07, 2007 at 5:11 am

    I have 2 things in common with you.

    1. I used to take the same school bus as Tom Green.
    2. I used to have panic attacks but no anymore. There’s rather simple techinque you can use for that.

  22. sağlık said, on April 12, 2010 at 11:44 am

    I used to take the same school bus as Tom Green..


Comments are closed.

