// Internet Duct Tape

Blogger Now Sucks Less

Posted in Becoming a Better Blogger, Links, Technology by engtech on August 15, 2006

Blogger finally has an update and gets some of the features that make WordPress so sweet. This post by Freshblog does a good job of documenting the new features (privacy, tags, RSS, immediate update, widgets), and makes special note that there is a schizm between Blogger and Blogger Beta now. You can’t use the same account to comment on both sides of the fence.

My favorite part in all this is how the nomenclature changes. Blogger goes with Labels instead of Tags, and Layouts instead of Widgets. If you copy something, at least keep the name.

I wonder if there will be any privacy issues with being able to trace someone’s Google Account name from their Blogger profile?

>> Significant Blogger Upgrade – Freshblog
>> A collection of links to the Blogger Upgrade

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brent said, on August 16, 2006 at 1:39 am

    It looks nice. I tried it out. I’m hoping that this will encourage Matt to allow custom .css for free on wordpress.com

  2. engtech said, on August 16, 2006 at 2:04 am

    I don’t know about that. Custom CSS is such a great pay feature because it falls soley in the realm of Luxury, and there is peer pressure to get it.

    Every time I see a custom wp.com blog I get the urge to pay $15 to get the side updated (and hell, probably throw a few bones at some web design friends to build something cool because I don’t want to spend any time on CSS).

    This feeling gets magnified when I see another blog using the same theme.

    I want to be a unique snowflake.

  3. Brent said, on August 16, 2006 at 5:05 am

    The reason that I say this, is that it seems as though, since Blogger will now be offering much more than it did in the past, new bloggers might very well be more prone to use it, instead of wordpress.com.

    I’m not in any way, saying that Blogger is superior to wordpress.com. What I am saying this that if Blogger is doing it, why not wordpress.com?

    Here’s a thought: how about limited customization with font types and colors, page backgrounds, etc, like the new Blogger beta? This, along with custom headers, would make a drastic difference. This isn’t full customization of .css. Quite honestly, I don’t want to even mess with that, because like I have said before, I want to post, not constantly tweak my blog.

    I love wordpress.com. However, if I wanted to make a new blog, now there is a real close comparison between the two. The lack of categories (or labels), as you previously said, is the reason you came to wordpress.com. Me too pretty much.

    If Blogger had already had this function, would you have honestly come here to wordpress.com?

    I am glad that this happened though. It seems to me that Blogger realized that it had to compete. If Blogger ends up being as good as wordpress.com (or at least sucks less, as you put it), this may force wordpress.com to improve itself.

    Isn’t competition wonderful, since it benefits us all?


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

