// Internet Duct Tape

How to Generate 100s of Backlinks in Minutes

Posted in Marketing and Promotion, Microsoft Windows XP and Vista, Technology by engtech on March 25, 2008

Bloggin Tips and Tricks

In 25 ways to get an insanely popular blog Skellie describes 25 models for blogging that leads to an ever increasing audience. There’s one she missed out on: the abrasive model.

  1. Say something bone-headed so people clamour to their keyboards in order to prove you wrong.
  2. Make commenting on your post as hard as possible so that people will respond with blog posts of their own instead of a comment.

I was reminded of this tactic by the ZDNet post: “What Microsoft can teach Apple about software updates” (via parislemon).

zdnet-header.png

The title alone makes me want to say “Like what? Rebooting the computer without asking me or asking me every five minutes when I click the ‘Later’ button?” The default settings for Windows Update will reboot your computer without your permission and can cause data loss if you have open applications.

zdnet-comment-box.png

Pithy reply in hand, I want to post a comment. The comment box on ZDNet looks normal enough until you click “Add your opinion”.

zdnet-comment-capcha-from-hell.png

Congradulations ZDNet, you have a captcha worse than Typepad (and that’s saying a lot). No wonder the conversation is leaving the blogosphere.

Footnote

I don’t disagree with Ed’s piece. I have my own hate fest on with the iTunes updater because a) it seems like there’s a new version every time I run iTunes and b) it keeps on install the same dumb “helpers” to my startup no matter how many times I disable them (You don’t need them to run iTunes! Stop eating my ram!). I disagree with Windows Update being upheld as a paragon of good update procedures.

Of course, Ed is recommending the virtues of Microsoft Update, not Windows Update. So who knows if my comment is even valid. But man… look at that ZDNet captcha.

Tagged with:

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nunojob said, on March 26, 2008 at 1:02 am

    It was easy to comment this post :P

  2. [...] suggests two [...]

  3. [...] I started thinking about this when I was reading one of those ZDNet blogs and saw their commenting process; which in turn reminded me of a post by Eric (aka //engtech) over on Internet Duct Tape where he related the very painful process of trying to post a comment to the ZDNet blogs. [...]

  4. raincoaster said, on April 12, 2008 at 6:42 am

    #1 has always worked for me. I said something completely asinine about Natalie Portman and within thirty seconds of posting it was on Stumbleupon and that hour got 481 hits. About 100 people saw it before I’d managed to update and apologize.

  5. Cycling Science said, on April 15, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    I just have to mispell words and people reply.

  6. engtech said, on April 18, 2008 at 11:16 am

    @ Cycling Science:

    So true.

  7. engtech said, on April 18, 2008 at 11:16 am

    @ Cycling Science:

    Wait, I meant: So treu.

  8. Fresh Excel said, on July 26, 2008 at 4:01 am

    There are some good ideas presented in this post. I also agree partially with the article used in the example. Thanks for sharing

  9. pooja said, on September 19, 2008 at 5:57 am

    thanks for sharing……nice post……

  10. fish said, on November 16, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    Whats so great about Apple anyways?

  11. daniel said, on September 24, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Say something bone-headed so people clamour to their keyboards in order to prove you wrong

  12. Kevin said, on May 21, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    You’re right. Controversy breathes interest.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

