// Internet Duct Tape

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike said, on February 25, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    I vote for a name change! Something like Detumblr the tumblr eraser. Tumblrcleanr sounds like some sort of maintenance app that checks links, comments and washes your delicates by hand.

  2. engtech said, on February 25, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Well, it kind of washes your delicates by acid.

  3. engtech said, on February 25, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I found a hosted website that should do the same thing:

    http://cxzcxz.com/dev/tumblatr/

  4. atom said, on February 26, 2008 at 1:29 am

    tumblatr ftw

  5. nocash said, on February 26, 2008 at 1:52 am

    Ha, who knew the world of erasing a Tumblr account was so competitive? I had to create Tumblatr to vent a lot of frustration I was feeling one night regarding the lack of a mass-delete option. It uses PHP/cURL and some DOM parsing to do the job, but it’s all a bit hacky since I stopped working on it once I got it to erase my account. Tumblatr should do the job, but your version looks much more sexily written. I can tell by some of the source and from seeing some sexy code in my time.

  6. Mike said, on February 26, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Engtech, he’s bring sexy (code) back!

  7. [...] How to delete your Tumblr tumblelog with TumblrCleanr [...]

  8. Alex Payne said, on February 27, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Awesome. I wrote Tumblr support asking to have my Tumblr cleared out, and about four months later they wrote back and said “no”. No customer service == scripted solutions. Good work!

  9. tehbloggaar said, on March 17, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    I love Twitter and Tumblr. I also tried out Pownce recently but I am not a big fan of the templates. They are just way too over crowded for me.

    I post non-stop at chvnx.com since I switched to Tumblr. It’s so easy to use and it serves my needs perfectly. I don’t have a niche and posting random junk using Tumblr works so smoothly.

    Although Twitter and Pownce are similar (both are social presence sites) I find that Tumblr is different all together. It offers so much more all while seeming so much simpler. I recently read on some random blog that Tumblr was probably going to receive the same ammount of attention in 2008 that Twitter got in 2007.

    Only time will tell!
    chvnx.com

  10. sindhu said, on April 19, 2008 at 12:00 am

    engtech’s recommendation was way better.
    but either way if you choose to have your own ruby thing running to delete stuff or use http://cxzcxz.com/dev/tumblatr/… even though the tumblelog wont contain any posts after deletion, the feed for that tumblelog will still show old posts.

    i know from experience, even if you delete a post from dashboard, once published, the post stays on rss.

  11. matt said, on May 25, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    http://www.tumblr.com/account/delete

  12. chvnx said, on June 04, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Thanks for this. You can now delete your tumblr, did you know that?

    I just made a new Tumblr theme and its available for download @ SkyLite.Tumblr.com.

    Come check it out and feel free to follow my tumble log @ chvnx.com

  13. tim said, on July 13, 2008 at 12:44 am

    This didn’t work for me. It said success but nothing was deleted. Any ideas?

  14. Krishanu said, on July 14, 2008 at 3:39 am

    Hello there,
    Your code still works or Tumblr has undergone some recent updates so it stopped working?
    I’m not sure but it’s not working for me even after getting the success message.
    Would you mind to take a look if everything is working fine for you?

  15. David Ing said, on April 10, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Thanks for sharing TumblrCleanr. I’ve a Tumblr where I was feeding things in … but want to delete most entries to use it as a clippings blog.

    I’ve installed TumblrCleanr on XP, and it starts okay. I’m getting a “Unable to login with / on .tumbler.com ” message.

    The last successful report of using TumblrCleanr seems to be a year ago, so I assume that something has changed in Tumblr, and this script hasn’t been updated. Please let me know if I’m mistaken. Thanks.

  16. How to Get Six Pack Fast said, on April 15, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Not that I’m totally impressed, but this is a lot more than I expected for when I stumpled upon a link on Digg telling that the info is awesome. Thanks.

  17. Tumblatr is Gone « NO CASH VALUE said, on June 25, 2009 at 8:26 am

    [...] suggest trying engtech’s solution, or if you just want to delete your account, Tumblr has now made that option [...]

  18. Lena said, on August 19, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I entered this (wget http://internet-duct-tape.googlecode.com/files/tumblr_cleanr-0.0.1.gem
    sudo gem install tumblr_cleanr-0.0.1.gem) into my terminal window (on an OSX) and it gives me this: http://i25.tinypic.com/ay3hps.png
    Help, anyone?
    (I just realised most of these comments are from 2008…)

  19. Kristi Gutierrez said, on September 25, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    hm, tumblr is way better than blogspot. i think blogspot is boring and has ugly layouts.
    tumblr is way easier to use and has better layouts. you can choose from themes to the appearance look. and it has a lot of choices to choose from blogging and you can personalize it =) fuck blogspot!

  20. Wolf46 said, on October 22, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Then there was a hard time in my life, I had an accident. ,

  21. GewDOTOffenue said, on February 16, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    I really like when people are expressing their opinion and thought. So I like the way you are writing

  22. gen said, on March 31, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    doesn’t work : (

  23. tc said, on April 07, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    The windows version doesn’t work. I’m running Vista. :(

  24. Bob said, on April 22, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Doesn’t work with XP either.

  25. Liv said, on May 05, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Doesn’t work with Windows 7…
    :/

  26. aishaladon said, on October 03, 2010 at 10:25 am

    It does not appear to be working anymore.
    Are you working on another, do you know of any other resources?

    I’m not familiar with running the ruby in command prompt :(


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

