// Internet Duct Tape

Year in Review – Most Popular Posts of 2007

Posted in Monthly Digest, Statistics and Navel Gazing, Technology by engtech on February 01, 2008

The second year of Internet Duct Tape found me settling down into my blogging rhythm. It went from an obsession to an integrated part of my life, which was important because there were many weeks where I’d be lucky to even check my stats because I was so busy at work.

2007 Highlights

  • Finally got my own domain name, which I think really fits
  • I was featured in the book Blogging Heroes. It’s pretty neat to see your name on the written page.
  • My cat was lol’d by the readers of icanhascheezburger.com (easily the post of the year on IDT)
  • Best of Feeds has been going strong with around 10-20 new links a week on the subjects I find most interesting.
  • Tried doing a web comic for a bit, but it was too time consuming and I stopped in May
  • Hovering at around 2.5 million page views
  • A solid 6,000 page views a day even when I don’t write new content
  • Learned about different aspects of web design/programming: javascript, css, rss, and ruby on rails

2007 Software

Most Popular Posts of 2007

You can also see the break down of most popular posts per month

Top Sources of Traffic for 2007

stumbleupon.com   50.6%
lifehacker.com   6.2%
joel.reddit.com   5.3%
del.icio.us   4.6%
digg.com   4.0%
www.dansdata.com   2.5%
wordpress.com   2.4%
icanhascheezburger.com   2.3%
reddit.com   2.2%
blogs.chron.com   1.9%
popurls.com   1.4%
meneame.net   1.4%
clicked.msnbc.msn.com   1.1%
linuxtoday.com   1.1%
gawker.com   1.0%
userscripts.org   1.0%

The number of RSS subscribers has been climbing steadily, and I’m impressed that I have any with the way I jump around different topics.

feedstats.png

Thank you for reading my little spot on the interweb.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Meyer Billmers said, on February 01, 2008 at 11:45 am

    How do you track RSS subscribers? It doesn’t suffice to track hits on the xml file, since most RSS clients fetch pages repeatedly on a schedule.

  2. engtech said, on February 01, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    @ Meyer Billmers:

    I let FeedBurner track RSS subscribers for me. This is what I could find about how FeedBurner calculates the results: http://www.markgivens.com/how-does-feedburner-calculate-the-total-number-of-rss-subscribers/

    That number is quite a bit lower than the real number of subscribers… because that’s the people who are subscribed using feedburner. Some people subscribe to the feed directly, bypassing feedburner

  3. syahidali said, on February 01, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    I really love the “How to Earn Six Figure Income from Blogging”. :D
    Hmm. StumbleUpon contributes a lot to your traffic I see.

  4. vrfsdfxvc said, on February 24, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    vpnomania.net is the reliable and affordable fast vpn service that is offers security and anonymity for personal use.

  5. ijfdisjisdc said, on February 25, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Красота спасет мир
    supersgirl.ru


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

