// Internet Duct Tape

Fat Blogging 101 – Weight Loss Tips

Posted in Lifehacks, Technology by engtech on January 03, 2008

Lifehacks and Productivity

It’s a New Year, and like most of you I’m looking at my waistline and wondering how reality and my perception of reality have come to such a disagreement. It’s easy enough to blame it on having to walk past the candy machine several times a day, or various injuries that have kept me from being active in 2007. But like everything that is wrong in your life, the problem always lies at your own feet.

I am not a doctor, I’m just a computer obsessed geek who spends too much time doing everything but being healthy. However, I have lost 12 lbs in 6 weeks by following these tips.

21 Tips for Losing Weight

  1. It’s all math. 1 lb is 3500 calories. That is a *LOT*.
  2. Learn the Weight Watchers formula so that can compare foods properly (although I never joined their program). Once you can compare apples to oranges (literally) it really helps you make healthier choices. The best thing you can get from Weight Watchers is learning how to read nutritional labels.
  3. Watch out for nutritional label hijinx with serving size. Is serving size eight chips, or one slice of bread? They play lots of tricks to make it harder to compare products.
  4. Don’t eat blind. Read those labels!
  5. Your regular metabolism burns much more calories per day than most exercises, so do everything you can to boost your metabolism (drink water + eat fiber + gain muscle).
  6. Building muscle and cutting calories is often counter productive. That’s why body builders have bulking and cutting phases. You might want to alternate between them.
  7. Get sleep. I’m an insomniac and lack of sleep always leads to overeating, not to mention a deadening my sense of smell or sense of taste (which leads to less enjoyment of food). Listen to your body. Exercise really helps with insomnia as well.
  8. Always eat breakfast. Your metabolism is higher when you aren’t running on empty.
  9. Eat slower. I gulp my food down like someone is going to steal it, so I have to eat more in order to enjoy it.
  10. Don’t eat the same caloric amount every day. That’s the easiest way to plateau. Mix it up with big calorie days followed by two low calorie days.
  11. Buy a digital scale. Weigh yourself regularly and journal it. A notebook and a pen is good enough, those online journals promote spending more time on the computer.
  12. Keep track of eating out. I don’t like to cook so I will get into cycles where I eat out between 5-10 times a week. Restaurant food has higher calories than something you made yourself.
  13. Penthouse Letters were right, raw vegetables are your friend.
  14. Pick your meat carefully. Turkey < Chicken < Cow < Pork. (Can’t remember where different fish and lamb fit). Learn from religions, and avoid pork.
  15. Pick your condiments carefully. Cheese, mayo, bacon and peanut butter are much higher in calories compared to mustard, ketchup, or salsa.
  16. Don’t drink your calories! No soft drinks, no juice, cut out the milk and sugar from tea or coffee.
  17. Sober up. Alcohol slows down your metabolism, and is high in calories. If you do drink, something like vodka + lemon juice + club soda is the way to go.
  18. Reduce your stress. Stress can lead to binge eating, problems sleeping, and there is evidence that it changes the way your body stores food.
  19. Make exercise part of your life. Incorporating exercise into your commute is the easiest way.
  20. Join a team sport. The camaraderie and competitiveness can help give you more reasons to be in shape.
  21. Travel. Other countries have countless intestinal parasites that can completely turn you off of food.
Fat Bastard

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Webomatica said, on January 03, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    21: yep! Also the food itself in other countries can be a turn off, too.

  2. [...] New Year’s Resolution? I need to drop 10 pounds. Gee, that was one of my goals for last year&#… [...]

  3. [...] post by // Internet Duct Tape and software by Elliott Back This entry is filed under Turkey tips. You can follow any responses [...]

  4. Syahid A. said, on January 07, 2008 at 3:54 am

    And be committed to follow these tips. Don’t just read it, try it!

  5. [...] Internet Duct Tape has these 21 ideas for losing weight. [...]

  6. Jake said, on January 08, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Commit to building some muscle. Muscle is heavier than fat so don’t let your scales deceive you – you aren’t putting on fat, you’re adding muscle and that’s a good thing. Muscle burns calories just to exist and a more muscular body (you certainly don’t have to go overboard) is a real calorie furnace.

  7. Zach Moniker said, on January 09, 2008 at 7:59 am

    I’d love to say that after reading this I’m going to commit, but I know I’m going to forget it all in a week and just go back to beer and pizza every night. =/

  8. engtech said, on January 09, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    @ Zach Moniker:

    Try limiting yourself to beer and pizza only two nights a week. It’ll make a big difference. :)

  9. engtech said, on January 09, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    @ Jake:

    So true. Muscle loss from starvation is one of the biggest causes of weight gain from yo-yo dieting.

  10. A.J. Valliant said, on January 11, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Also: Dessert is the enemy.
    Listen to the advice of your anti-dessert friends.

  11. engtech said, on January 14, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    @ A.J. Valliant:

    but there was that time dessert saved my life in a knife fight

    dessert has my back, i know it

  12. engtech said, on April 03, 2008 at 8:19 am

    Now this is a good tip:

    Use old photos.

    http://reddit.com/goto?rss=true&id=t3_6ee44

    :)

  13. Enfotainer said, on June 26, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    One of the main reasons of weight gain can be “dieting”.

    In the process of dieting, when you reduce your food intake, all you do is push your body into a “famine-alert” state which means that your body gets an impression that food is scarce. Hence, it slows down the process of metabolism so as to best use the small amounts of food that is available.

    And after months of dieting and finding out that it actually isn’t working, people tend to get frustrated and start eating normally. Now, that’s another wrong move! Since everything you eat was being dealt at a much slower rate, you can not expect your metabolism to be normal just because you’re starting to eat normally. Hence a much higher percentage of the food you eat will be laid down as fat and so more fat is stored!

  14. muscle loss said, on December 01, 2008 at 4:31 am

    muscle loss…

    I’m usually not big on strawberry flavors, but I got a single packet…

  15. clurfaree said, on December 19, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    If anyone is looking for a weight loss product that actually works? I have been using acai berry benefits and its one of the best supplements out there and they’re currently offering a FREE trial. I have been putting it in my diet for a little over two months and Ive already lost 25lbs!

    I give it a 5/5 you cannot get any better!

  16. jammer said, on July 05, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    tenk youu

  17. negative food calorie list said, on January 30, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Hey, found your site by accident doing a search on Ask but I will definitely be returning. As for your post… I agree with a lot of what you’re saying here but wouldn’t it be just as easy to focus on the postive? I mean why mess with your quality of life if you don’t have to?

  18. Susan said, on May 28, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Hi Friends, I just lost 35 pounds and reached a plateau. So to put it up a notch I bought the Burn & Clear. WOW! I’m only on day 3, but I lost 3.5 pounds in one day two. What has given me motivation to keep it and make sure I exercise twice a day. Never thought I could eat as much and lose weight like crazy!
    Quicktrim Canada or Usa

  19. discountdiet01 said, on October 29, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Thanks ! I never would have thought I could lose this much weight so quickly.

    HCG diet


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

