// Internet Duct Tape

Windows XP – Disable dumpprep when programs crash

Posted in Microsoft Windows XP and Vista, Technology by engtech on December 26, 2007

Working With Windows

I might seem like a slick, saavy geek who knows his was around an operating system but the sad truth is that I’m a complete Luddite when it comes to computer OSes. I don’t have anything against Windows Vista, but I’m not going to upgrade until its been out for one or two years, and all the tips and tricks for tweaking it are freely available.

One tip for improve Windows XP that I absolutely love is turning off that annoying “do you want to send an error report” message when programs crash. The sad truth is that those error reports rarely reach anyone who could fix the problem, so it’s a colossal waste of time — especially if the error is as innocuous as “the program ran out of memory”. Which is usually the case for me.

There’s a whole slew of steps for how to find the hidden setting to tweak to turn it off, but instead I prefer to use XP-AntiSpy or Safe XP. Both programs provide an easy interface to one-click “disable error reporting”.

Now when Firefox crashes because of memory problems I don’t have to wait five minutes for the error reporting dialog to pop-up.

Tagged with: ,

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mrbitterness said, on December 27, 2007 at 12:56 pm

    There’s nothing wrong with being a Luddite: that’s why we have Geeks. And to find the fixes they come up with, that’s why we have Google. I look forward to trying the programs you mentioned, because I’m too scared to go Vista, and I hate the Error report bs.

  2. willtaft said, on December 28, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    This error report pop up has annoyed me for a long time also. Thanks for the links. I’m trying Safe XP. It has a lot of other options also.

    By the way, I have posted an answer to your question to me in the Auntie Spam thread, but it looks like you have not been there in a while. I would like to get AS working as I get more and more spam caught in Akismet every day. I searched for my problem with the plugin and found a few others with the same strange display, but no answers.

    Thanks! – Will

  3. Sanix said, on May 19, 2008 at 2:21 am

    This is really a cool thing to do as normally we don’t require the dumps and all. We only want to restart the program and start doing our work again. Sometimes this dumprep takes 100% of processor and hangs the computer. So better disable it for normal users.

  4. engtech said, on May 26, 2008 at 9:54 am

    @ Sanix:

    What I love is how if you keep hitting Ctrl-Alt-Delete on a process that refuses to die you can almost build an infinite number of Dumppreps.

  5. Kaamajakaaya said, on February 08, 2009 at 10:03 am

    amazing stuff thanx :)

  6. Chadhurbhujaya said, on February 08, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Of course, what a great site and informative posts, I will add backlink – bookmark this site? Regards, Reader.

  7. Jeannie Zubik said, on April 27, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    yea nice Work :D

  8. Michele said, on June 07, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Here’s how you disable dumpprep:

    Dumpprep.exe is a Microsoft Dump Reporting Tool.
    Dumpprep.exe is a part of Windows Operation System.
    It is used to prepare error report after system or program crash.

    Dumpprep may be disabled via Control Panel, System, Additional, Error Reporting dialog.

  9. Michele said, on June 07, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    P.S. In Windows XP it’s under the Advanced tab in System, not under the Additional tab.

  10. wisconsin union theater website said, on October 25, 2010 at 5:41 am

    Another a really good read by the author hope to come back more very soon.

  11. Team Roster said, on October 30, 2010 at 4:33 am

    Best you should edit the post subject Windows XP – Disable dumpprep when programs crash // Internet Duct Tape to something more generic for your subject you make. I liked the blog post yet.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

