// Internet Duct Tape

Delicious Stumbles – Post to Delicious and StumbleUpon at the same time

Social Bookmarking and Social Voting

Delicious and StumbleUpon are two different social networks that let you save websites you like. Delicious Stumbles is a time saving tool for the Firefox web browser that will let you update your StumbleUpon account easily when you bookmark pages on delicious.

This video explains social bookmarking using delicious.

Yesterday Muhammad Saleem announced the Social Media extension for Firefox that lets you quickly browse how a site is saved between delicious/digg/reddit/stumbleupon. I’ve been hitting the same problem from another angle — how to quickly submit from one social bookmarking site to another.

I’m a hardcore delicious user. I use it to save everything. That’s how I build those “Best of Feeds” posts on Saturday. One problem with being a hardcore delicious user is that it means I’m not as active on other social networking sites. If I like something I save it to delicious and then get back to whatever I was doing.

I find delicious to be the quickest site for tagging and the easiest site for searching through pages I’ve bookmarked before. The problem is that I also wanted to submit my saved sites to StumbleUpon. As a blogger, StumbleUpon is a great source of traffic — not to mention a great way to find interesting sites to share and find people who have similar interests. Dosh Dosh has a great post on why StumbleUpon isn’t just a source of traffic — it’s a great tool for anyone. By crossposting the sites I find interesting to StumbleUpon as well as delicious I improve StumbleUpon’s ability to find pages I like.

Delicious Stumbles

With Delicious Stumbles I get all of the super-useful features I like about delicious (speed, recommended tags) but I also teach StumbleUpon more about what I like without having to spend all that time cutting-and-pasting between two accounts.

  • Submit a page you’ve saved to delicious to StumbleUpon using the same URL, title, tags and description
  • Use delicious’ super-quick tagging features instead of StumbleUpon’s really slow tagging
  • Stumble any of your existing bookmarks
  • Stumble a page while you’re saving it to delicious

How to Install

Delicious Stumbles works best with the “old” Delicious extension.

Show Me How It Works

Save a page how you normally would on delicious. But before you click Save, click on the Submit to Stumbleupon link.

delicious stumbles submit to stumbleupon from within the delicious extension

This will open up a new tab to submit on StumbleUpon with all of the information already prefilled.

delcious stumbles stumbleupon submission

You can even go back to any pages you have saved before on delicious and quickly stumble them.

delicious stumbles submit to stumbleupon from within the delicious extension

What Are You Waiting For?

If you use both delicious and StumbleUpon then this script can save you at least a minute every time you submit a site. How many sites do you submit a week? Install it now.

Related Posts

28 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Skellie said, on September 14, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Thanks engtech… stumbling my way through the install as I write this :)

    Great job on some of the changes to the site, too.

  2. engtech said, on September 15, 2007 at 2:33 am

    @Skellie:

    Let me know how you like it.

    And thanks again for the advice on cleaning up the site.

  3. syahid ali said, on September 15, 2007 at 3:43 am

    i am a hardcore fan of del.icio.us too but use a little bit of stumbleupon. maybe this extension will get me to use it more. thanks for the heads up.

  4. engtech said, on September 15, 2007 at 3:53 am

    Just found a conflict bug between this script and my delicious more-maximus script.

  5. Ian Stewart said, on September 15, 2007 at 10:22 am

    Yes! I reinstalled Greasemonkey just for this.

    I of course tested your script with this page. ;)

  6. engtech said, on September 16, 2007 at 12:16 am

    @Ian Stewart:

    Glad you liked it.

  7. engtech said, on September 16, 2007 at 12:21 am

    @syahid ali:

    Hope you find it useful. I find delicious very useful for saving, but in the current incarnation it doesn’t do much for helping me find other content (except for the popular page — that is gold).

    StumbleUpon is easily the most enjoyable time waster out there, and I’ve seen it get a lot better since I’ve started submitting things to both sites.

  8. syahidali said, on September 16, 2007 at 3:06 am

    yeah the popular page is very useful on delicious. you need to check out popurls too. nice stuff.

  9. Matt Jones said, on September 16, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Great post, that is really useful… I’ve never been number of a delicious user but now is a perfect time to start.

  10. [...] and has spawned spoofs like BugrOff and Social Networking Rehab, as well as applications like Delicious Stumbles and Social Poster to make it easier to maintain profiles on multiple [...]

  11. [...] to subscribe to my RSS feed. Thanks for visiting!A few additions for your Stumble God tool belt- Cross post to del.icio.us and StumbleUpon and a quick social bookmarking lookup [...]

  12. Jude said, on November 06, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    Stumbled across this, great guide you’ve got here. I think to make SU users stick, your stumbles must be catchy enough in the first place.

  13. links for 2007-12-10 « AB’s reflections said, on December 10, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    [...] Delicious Stumbles – Post to Delicious and StumbleUpon at the same time (tags: firefox del.icio.us greasemonkey bookmarking stumbleupon userscripts) [...]

  14. [...] Delicious Stumbles – Post to Delicious and StumbleUpon at the same time « // Internet Duct Tape (tags: bookmarking socialmedia firefox plugin) [...]

  15. links for 2008-01-11 | Daily EM said, on January 10, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    [...] Delicious Stumbles – Post to Delicious and StumbleUpon at the same time « // Internet Duct Tape that’s useful (tags: stumbleupon del.icio.us firefox greasemonkey delicious socialbookmarking article web2.0 bookmarking bookmarks collaboration) [...]

  16. [...] is all due to a brilliant Greasemonkey script that I have found called Delicious Stumbles. It basically adds a button to your standard Del.icio.us submission box which allows you to submit [...]

  17. Sarah Lewis said, on March 14, 2008 at 11:29 am

    I didn’t realize how much I relied on this script until StumbleUpon broke it this morning. :) I’d be willing to subsidize an update if you’re willing to do one!

  18. engtech said, on March 14, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    @ Sarah Lewis:

    I posted the updated version at around 10 AM EST this morning. Not having Delicious Stumbles was worse than not having coffee. It’ll automatically update itself sometime in the next two weeks, but you can speed up the process by clicking here: http://userscripts.org/scripts/source/12274.user.js

    cheers!

  19. Sarah Lewis said, on March 14, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    You’re freaking awesome. All hail the speedy updater of my favorite script!

  20. Shannon said, on March 15, 2008 at 6:39 am

    Looks awesome. Does it work with the Delicious Bookmarks extension? I installed it but it doesn’t seem to work… Do I need to install the “classic” delicious buttons to use Delicious Stumbles?

  21. engtech said, on March 15, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    @ Shannon:

    Yup, it only works with the classic delicious extension.

  22. [...] Delicious Stumbles – "Post to Delicious and StumbleUpon at the same time" [...]

  23. Sarah Lewis said, on July 15, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Using this in Firefox 3 and the description and tags no longer seem to be transferred over to SU when bookmarking in del.icio.us (and hitting the button, of course). Is this a known issue or have I somehow managed to break it?

  24. nate said, on September 08, 2008 at 3:41 am

    I like it, but when I searched google for “stumbleupon delicious” I was really looking for something that would automatically bookmark in delcious what I say I “like” in stumbleupon, not the other way around.

    Feel free to let me know when you build that script/plugin. :)

    Cheers.

  25. Glenn said, on November 23, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    I installed FireFox 3.0.3 and GreaseMonkey and the Delicious Stumbles script but when I click the Delicious TAG button the Save to StumbleUpon link is not there.

    Anyone have a fix for this?

  26. Hirt said, on December 13, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    I have the same problem as Glenn. Help is much appreciated.

  27. tomartomartini said, on December 29, 2008 at 11:50 am

    I installed the Delicious Stumbles script but when I click the Delicious TAG button the Save to StumbleUpon link is not there.Delicious is good but my prefered choice is StumbleUpon.I would like to improve StumbleUpon’s ability to find pages I like.Crossposting these sites would help .

  28. ortam dinleme said, on July 05, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    the new chrome 2 beta has multiple profile support. you should look into the nightly builds, they’re updated far more frequently than firefox’s


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

