// Internet Duct Tape

Facebook Tip: Broadcast your Facebook status as RSS

Posted in Facebook, Technology, Twitter, Yahoo Pipes by engtech on August 08, 2007

RSS is one of the most useful tools out there for moving information around on the web. Recently the concept of “micro-blogging” status updates has become very popular with applications like Facebook, Twitter and Pownce. The only problem is that it is a pain to update many sites at the same time. It is better to pick one and broadcast RSS to the others. I’m going to show you how to broadcast your Facebook status to Twitter.

IMPORTANT UPDATE: The Twitter Facebook App now lets you control your Facebook status from Twitter. This tip lets you posts your Facebook status in Twitter. Using them together is a very bad idea.

How to Find the RSS Feed for Your Facebook Status

This is actually the hardest part.

  1. Login to Facebook
  2. Click on Profile tab
  3. Under the Mini-Feed heading click on See All
  4. Click on Status Stories from the right hand column
  5. Right click on My Status and copy the link

facebook rss status

Filtering Your Status with Yahoo Pipes

I’ve put together a Yahoo Pipe that filters your status. This isn’t necessary, but it makes the status updates look a little bit better in other applications like Twitter. It removes your name, and changes the link to go to your profile instead of the individual status. Feel free to clone it and tweak it some more.

Eric is washing his cat.

becomes

is washing his cat (from Facebook status).

and the feed link is set to your Facebook profile.

  1. Go to this Yahoo Pipe
  2. Copy your Facebook status RSS feed
  3. Click Run Pipe
  4. Click on Subscribe
  5. Right click on Get as RSS and copy link

You can now put this filter RSS into TwitterFeed, your blog sidebar, etc.

Special Thanks

Related Posts

50 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rex Hammock said, on August 09, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    I really appreciate you sharing this hack, but, IMHO, it’s a very good display of what’s *wrong* with Facebook (and I’m a big fan). Via the Facebook platform, they provide 3rd parties a means for developers to provide me an easy way to display Twitter tweets on Facebook. But to display my Facebook status on Twitter, I must cobble together a Rube Goldberg hack using RSS and bailing wire. Perhaps I’m being impatient. Perhaps their API offers ways to do this more easily. I wish some of those folks who are developing apps to run *on* Facebook, would come up with one-click ways to pull data out. Sorry, I didn’t mean for this to sound like a rant.

  2. engtech said, on August 10, 2007 at 10:58 am

    @Rex Hammock:

    Ah, but the Yahoo Pipe hack I added to the technique wasn’t necessary. It was something I added for aesthetic reasons. Your Facebook statuses do come out in RSS, although in typical Facebook fashion it’s next to impossible to find the feed. :)

    I think you’ve seen the same Techmeme stories about Netvibes being the first to try and get data OUT of Facebook and the issues they’re hitting (I touched on it here)

    But I know what you mean about open APIs and access to data. It’s kind of sad, but when it comes to mashing sites together I’m actually starting to prefer the complicated RSS hacks, because I’ve had some horrible experience with APIs breaking for unknown reasons (I’m looking at you, Technorati).

  3. Rex Hammock said, on August 10, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Like I said, I wasn’t directing this rant to you — your hack is nice. Thanks.

  4. Rob Cottingham » links for 2007-08-11 said, on August 10, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    [...] Facebook Tip: Broadcast your Facebook status as RSS A handy guide that uses a custom-built Pipe courtesy of Yahoo! You may want to tweak it a little for your purposes… which is a not-bad introduction to how Pipes works. (tags: facebook rss feed yahoo pipes howto status) [...]

  5. J.T Dabbagian said, on August 13, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    This is a great hack, but honestly, I prefer Twitter. The big reason? I’m not limited to “James is….”

  6. engtech said, on August 13, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    @J.T Dabbagian:

    I know what you mean. The number of times I’ve had to awkwardly reword what I’m saying to fit the grammar…

    But it’s still good if Facebook is your primary social status app and you still want to use Twitter.

    The deciding factor always ends up being whichever networking your friends are using.

  7. [...] and once you have that feed handy, you might want to take a look at this rather nifty way to filter your status messages using Yahoo Pipes, care of Internet Duct Tape. This means that you can sheer off the excess baggage of your name when [...]

  8. Rolling a blog joint « Cuzoogle said, on August 15, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    [...] Duct Tape is sharing how to broadcast your Facebook status as [...]

  9. Michael Pick said, on August 20, 2007 at 2:57 am

    Thanks for the link love, and the cool Pipes hack!

    If anyone has a hard time actually making sure that their status link is there to be lifted (I did for the longest time, and several others seem to have encountered the same issue) I have put together a screenshot tour of how you can make sure it is activated. If you’ll permit me to spam you up, anyone stuck on this one can find it here: http://urltea.com/1908

    Thanks again, I’m off to try out this Pipes filtering business!

  10. BrandBrains » links for 2007-08-20 said, on August 21, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    [...] Facebook Tip: Broadcast your Facebook status as RSS (tags: facebook feed howto mashup pipes rss tech twitter status) Bookmark to:           [...]

  11. [...] from Facebook to Twitter and Dodgeball to Twitter. Here’s how.For Facebook to Twitter, just follow these simple step by step instructions. Neat, eh?Now for Dodgeball to Twitter, you need to follow a similar set of instructions. In the [...]

  12. masterclasslady said, on August 26, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    This has nothing to do with anything except that I thought I would say that you have the best blogging site on the planet. I love the design and the content. Congratulations on all your hard work.

  13. Patrick Ruffini said, on August 27, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Funny, I don’t see the Subscribe option on any of my Mini-Feed stories.

    An alternate method would be to create a dummy account, friend yourself (and only yourself) and subscribe to your Friends’ Status Updates.

    And yes, this is even more hackish than @RexHammock was complaining about.

  14. [...] Facebook Tip: Broadcast your Facebook status as RSS Import your Facebook status into other websites using RSS. [...]

  15. engtech said, on September 04, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    @masterclasslady:

    Thank you for the compliment

  16. engtech said, on September 04, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    @Patrick Ruffini:

    re: facebook mini-feeds

    Are you still having trouble trying to find your mini-feeds? There’s been a few updates on Facebook since you left that comment.

  17. [...] Broadcast your Facebook status as RSS to use in your tumbler or anywhere [...]

  18. ozlady said, on February 08, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Awesome – I’ve been looking for something like this for ages!

    Thanks!

  19. [...] The URL of your Facebook status RSS feed. Instructions to find it here. [...]

  20. Bill Bennett said, on June 15, 2008 at 6:31 am

    Nice work! :)

  21. Asaf Mesika said, on September 04, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Bummer, in the new facebook profile design, they’ve removed the RSS feed.

  22. [...] to after some time, and are pretty much not reachable from the outside. It is, however possible to get RSS feeds both of your own and your friend’s status [...]

  23. Tozzo said, on September 16, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    No they haven’t removed it, but it’s a bit hidden. Just search here http://www.new.facebook.com/minifeed.php?filter=11

  24. JL said, on September 22, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    anyone know how to find this now on the new facebook?

  25. JL said, on September 22, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    haha..nm thanks tozzo..should read the comments more carefully. :)

  26. naz said, on October 30, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Cheers Tozzo, got my status update in iGoogle now

  27. timdp said, on November 03, 2008 at 7:10 am

    Has anyone updated this for new Facebook yet?

  28. [...] kan imidlertid også få dine egne statusopdateringer som RSS-feed. I det gamle Facebook-design var det ret nemt, men lige så nemt er det ikke i det nye [...]

  29. Stephanie said, on November 26, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Hey there!
    Everything here was EXTREMELY helpful (this new FB format is tricky!), but for some reason when I paste my feed URL, Tumblr says it can’t find the name. Anyone else having this problem?
    Help!

  30. John K. said, on December 12, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    There is also an updated set of instructions for the new Facebook version here: http://tinyurl.com/5wg594

  31. [...] which means you can use your gmail login details) 2) Find the facebook mini (status) rss feed – this article found on Internet Duct Tape really helps in this regard 3) Load the mini feed from facebook to your twitterfeed account, making sure that you have selected [...]

  32. Linkereien (weekly) « lieblinks said, on February 08, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    [...] Facebook status RSS [...]

  33. Robert Dawson said, on February 15, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    http://www.new.facebook.com/minifeed.php?filter=11

    This is the link I used to find the RSS subscription for status updates on Facebook. Why they make it so hard to find is beyond me.

  34. ilter said, on March 11, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Thanks Robert, that link helped a lot.

    ( http://www.new.facebook.com/minifeed.php?filter=11 )

  35. [...] I thought I would summarise it for you. I originally got this from a website called Internet Duck Tape which I found via a quick google search for ‘Facebook status to Twitter’. So how to do [...]

  36. Omri Ariav said, on March 28, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Thanks for the status RSS feed URL.
    I was looking for it for hours with this bloody new design.

  37. Garabed said, on April 17, 2009 at 11:36 am

    do you know what is the new link to the RSS status feed for the “re-makeup” of facebook. I can’t find it and the one that was provided is redirecting to my facebook homepage.

    thanks

  38. Jokka said, on April 19, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Yeah, I wonder the same question as Garabed.. Let me know :)

  39. Yohann said, on April 19, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Up, as Gabriel

  40. SilentNoise said, on April 22, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    OK folks, after 2 days of looking for a way to do this, there is hope with the new 2009 Facebook layout to get your own status’ RSS feed:

    In FB, go to your Inbox > Notifications page

    At the bottom of the right column, there’s the link for the Notifications feed… right click on it and copy the link (or hit properties and copy the URL that shows up in the new window)

    To test that it works, paste that URL into your browser and hit enter. (You’ll see your notifications feed show up)

    In that URL, change ONLY the portion that stays “notifications.php” to “status.php” and hit enter.

    WALLA! YOUR STATUS FEED! *do a little dance*

  41. wafergold said, on April 23, 2009 at 1:15 am

    unfornutately this page status.php has been removed :-(

    Hope to find another way to get this feed ( for http://www.storytlr.com )

  42. josef said, on April 23, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    facebook needs to get with the program and make it easier for people to display their status where ever they want via RSS feeds…

  43. Joakim said, on April 24, 2009 at 4:21 am

    Agree!

  44. Jason said, on April 24, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    SilentNoise’s solution works beautifully!

  45. SilentNoise said, on April 24, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    wafergold, I’m not sure why you can’t see it. I’ve been using the solution I posted above on my site for 2.5 days now with no problems.

    WordPress’ RSS widget doesn’t take the status update right away (I’ve had it take 5 minutes, but I’ve also had to wait 30 minutes) after changing it, but it’s all good otherwise.

  46. Jokka said, on April 25, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Hmm.. I cant get it work..

    I want to show the feed for when I AM updating MY status, and when I AM updating MY pictures and so on.. Not my friends ..

  47. Emma said, on April 28, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    I can’t see it either. After changing notifications.php to status.php in the RSS link, it just tells me that this URL is no longer valid and then asks me to click a link which just sends me back to my profile page…. :(

  48. svenjick said, on April 29, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Since facebook launched its latest version, the RSS feed of the status updates doesn’t work anymore.

  49. caroline said, on April 29, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Hey folks….
    I am new to both FB and Twitter…I want to be able to have 1 of both for ME, and one of both for a project I’m working on. I made a project page, but I keep getting the tweets that I make updating my PROJECT page. Ideally the Project Titter and the Project FB would link, and have nothing to do with my FB or Twitter….Advice?

  50. Janne said, on April 30, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    I can’t seem to get SilentNoise’s solution to work. I get an error message saying the URL isn’t valid (or something like that)?


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

