// Internet Duct Tape

Tim Ferriss’ Four Minute Blog Training – The 9 Rules You Need to Know

Posted in Marketing and Promotion, Technology by engtech on July 25, 2007

tim ferriss blog idiot stupidWhat can a man who routinely slams corporate office culture for building boredom and people who waste their workdays with internet addiction have to say about writing a blog? Darren Rowse at Problogger has the scoop and now you can too with this no money down, no holds barred, straight for the jugular look at blogging from a man who has reached the New York Times Bestseller list.

Tim on Strategy

1. Polarization is Key

No one is interested in the middle ground. To be remarkable threaten the “3Bs: behaviour, belief, or belongings.” “I want at least one person to call me a liar per post or I don’t feel I’m pushing the envelope enough.”

2. Go to the Source

The biggest source of traffic is links from popular blogs and writing guest posts for them. “Borrowing traffic is a lot faster than creating it, and the former often leads to the latter.”

3. Be Diverse

How does your niche subject relate to everything (and anything) else in the world? Explore.

Tim on Technique

4. Headlines are Everything

“If you have a great headline, you can get great pass-along. If you have a mediocre headline, even a world-class post will be ignored.” “The headline doesn’t even need to describe the article or post. It has just one purpose: to get them to read the next sentence.”

5. Formatting Matters

“Add at least one graphic to each post, bold/italicize more to make the posts easier to scan and digest, and I would also discuss more topics that nearly everyone feels they can comment on.”

6. Post Less Frequently

It allows discussion to happen. “People have a lot of crap information being forced upon them, so I only want to add [] when I have something worthy to say.”

Tim on Monetization

7. Use Tact to Make Money

People don’t care if you’re making money, they only care if it interferes with your message.

8. Ethics are Easy

Pick sponsors from other industries that you’d never write about.

The Most Important Tip

9. Create a Community

Build a community that you would want to belong to.


You can read the entire interview at ProBlogger. Tim is the author of The 4 Hour Work Week [Wikipedia] and writes is own blog. I haven’t read the book yet, but I do strongly agree with his advice on blogging.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Webomatica said, on July 25, 2007 at 11:54 am

    I find his comment on not doing the middle ground interesting. I definitely don’t stick my neck out much.

  2. engtech said, on July 25, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    I used to do it much more when I started. But I eventually hit this point where I realized everyone you write about eventually reads it so I stopped pushing the envelope as much.

    I need to find my inner cranky again.

  3. Vern said, on July 25, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    Tim- those are AWESOME tips. I heard your interview podcast – I think it was with Yaro S, and I thought – hmmm, this guy has great energy. Now this is the 2nd thing I’ve seen from you. You’ve given 9 amazing tips in a new way that makes sense to me, but more importantly – got me REVVED UP. Very glad to know you’re around! Vern at AimforAwesome

  4. engtech said, on July 26, 2007 at 2:15 am

    Hi Vern, I’m not Tim. :)

  5. Mr Angry said, on July 26, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    Personally I try to never offend people. I think he’s wrong – there’s too much mean-ness in the world already. I want people to think only happy thoughts.

    I also think irony is wrong. In fact I believe irony is only second to sarcasm as being the greatest threat to socity today.

  6. Rolling a blog joint « Cuzoogle said, on July 28, 2007 at 2:35 am

    [...] Internet duct tape has more great tips on being a better blogger. [...]

  7. [...] Skip navigation Subscription OptionsMost Popular PostsIDT Labs – Free Software ToolsWordPress.com Resources – Tips, Tricks and ToolsWordpress.com Theme ReviewsWordpress.com Theme Review HelpGreasemonkey script: WordPress Category ResizerWordpress.com 7 Day Referrer ParserPerl Script – WordPress.com 7 Day Referrer ParserGreasemonkey Script: Akismet Auntie Spam for WordpressGreasemonkey Script: Find images that are too wideTag Cloud Generator for Wordpress.comTag Cloud Generator AdvancedTag Cloud Generator – Release NotesWordPress Themes by InternetDuctTape.comBlack and Blue and Read All Over Theme for WordPress SandboxMoon Under Uranus Theme for WordPress SandboxTechnorati Favorite Your FansTechnorati Favorite Your Fans – Release NotesComic BloggerGreasemonkey script: Flickr always search for Creative Commons licensed photosTag CloudAll Posts by Category and TitleSeriesGift Guide for Geekseaster eggsReader Appreciation for RSS subscribersWelcome to Internet Duct TapeblogAbout MeDisclosure « Tim Ferriss’ Four Minute Blog Training – The 9 Rules You Need to Know [...]

  8. Friedbeef said, on July 29, 2007 at 9:06 am

    Yeah I agree about polarization….

  9. [...] Tim Ferriss’ four minute blog training: Do more with less. [...]

  10. Mike McGinley said, on August 24, 2007 at 1:03 am

    Good article. I’ll try and use those tips to improve my blog. I’m not going to try and offend someone though I do think offering a clear opinion on an issue will prompt a response from readers.

  11. engtech said, on August 24, 2007 at 1:47 am

    @Mike McGinley:

    You don’t necessarily have to offend readers, but a good tip is to take a stronger stance to one side of the issue in the post, and then be more even in the comments.

    It usually creates discussion.

  12. TopVoda said, on April 11, 2009 at 4:17 am

    Здравствуйте! В Сети Интернет появился новейший сайт по тематике Обработки технической воды. Вот одна из записей сайта:

    Контроль процессов обеззараживания воды

  13. Anadyr said, on April 12, 2009 at 4:05 am

    Здравствуйте! С неделю назад купил себе гаджет в отличном магазине. Всем советую! Доставили очень быстро! Я безгранично рад!
    Магазин по продаже электроники.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

