// Internet Duct Tape

Opting Out of Technorati – The Break-up

Posted in Humor, Technology, Technorati by engtech on May 24, 2007

Dear Technorati,

I’m writing to say goodbye. With time I hope I’ll have more good things to say than bad, but this hasn’t been the case of late. I know you have plenty of other suitors paying attention to you, and I doubt you’ll even miss me. But I thought I’d write you a note to explain my absence and what went wrong between us.

I’ve decided to follow in the footsteps of Jason Kottke (from 2005) and stop calling you. It was fun watching my rank improve until I was in the top percentile of your favorite people, but I’ll never be one of the top one hundred you lavish your attention on… so why am I bothering? One of the key principles of time management is to put your attention and focus on what gets the maximum return on investment, but you haven’t been giving me anything more than a number and a lot of frustration.

goodbye technorati rank

Technorati, I fully appreciate the magnitude of what you’re doing with only a 45 person team behind you. I think focusing on search makes sense because you’ve already wasted too much time courting bloggers for links. Bloggers truly are such a limited part of the all the people who could be using you. We’re also fair weather friends who are the first to turn on you and complain when things go wrong.

But I’m leaving you Technorati, and I have the following grievances that you don’t seem to care about. I’m glad you’ve shed some pounds, and your dressing better, but looks aren’t everything. It’s the way you treat me that matters in the end.

Problems I’ve had with Technorati

  1. You lost the last month of my blog posts even though they were pinged and indexed before your new cosmetic changes. Because I only show the very latest blog post on my front page you’ll never find them again, even though the last 40 entries are all nicely showing up with full text in my RSS feed. Why don’t your spiders use my RSS feed? This is not the first time we’ve had this problem.
  2. You are inflexible when it comes to my blog URL. My latest posts must appear on http://engtech.wordpress.com, and your spiders will become confused if I ever change it to something like engtech.wordpress.com/blog. I can go from …com/blog to …com but not the other way around.
  3. My Technorati favorites page does not show the latest posts from ALL my 500 favorites – only a small subset of them. It is much better for me to track them with Google Reader or to use a Google Custom Search engine then to use Technorati favorites.
  4. The Technorati API should be a great way to grab information about blogs, but if you are under high traffic you will often fail to return any data at all instead of a standard error.
  5. You ask for entirely too many links back. I’m supposed to tag my posts with links back to you and add big “favorite my blog on Technorati” links on every page of my site in the hopes I can climb the top 100 favorites list, which no one really uses anyways.
  6. You do nothing to fix the long standing ping bug where anyone can ping a permalink post on a blog and have it show up as a new blog. I have to log a support ticket whenever I want to fix this.
  7. You cannot handle domain changes. It is very common for bloggers to start out on *.blogspot.com or *.wordpress.com and then eventually buy their own domain name. Every other search engine understands the 301 redirect just fine, why can’t you? This is by far your biggest limitation.

This isn’t to say you don’t have good people working for you. I’ve seen you help out friends and send them free t-shirts. I fully appreciate how difficult bloggers are to deal with, and how big of an achievement indexing that many blogs is. I appreciate all of the times you’ve gone out of your way to contact people who are having problems.

But there’s no denying that I’m having a very bad user experience with Technorati. Instead of being able to use you how I want, I’m pigeon-holed into trying to get you to display my blog properly and track the other blogs who are linking to it. All for what… a few meaningless numbers?

Technorati Rank got a lot of attention before it was replaced with Technorati Authority, but it can easily be deep-sixed. Google has bought FeedBurner and can combine the data from FeedBurner subscription counts and Google Reader. While you were busy determining authority by blog links, authority by RSS readership is going to come along and wipe you out with a metric that makes so much more sense.

So I’ve had enough of our relationship, Technorati. I know I haven’t exactly been kind to you in return (it would be polite to call me overly critical), so I think it is time for us to put this mutually destructive relationship to end. I’ve often complained that the biggest mistake a blog can make it not to own it’s own name. I’m moving on to internetducttape.com, and I know you’ll never find me. Even though I’m redirecting my little heart out, you don’t care to follow.

Sincerely,

Formerly known as Honeycakes


Over the top, but I couldn’t help it.

http://engtech.wordpress.com is now http://internetducttape.com, which means my Technorati Authority has dropped to 0. I’ve freed myself from my ball and chain and now I will focus on content and readers instead of traffic and links.

And of course, cool hacks, tricks and mash-ups of existing web services thanks to a little bit of internet duct tape.

51 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Webomatica said, on May 24, 2007 at 5:05 am

    well I’ll do my part and link to you at this new place. Good list of grievances. Important to point them out.

  2. engtech said, on May 24, 2007 at 5:16 am

    I’m glad to be finally sucking up and owning my own domain name. It opens up a lot more possibilities.

  3. judyb12 said, on May 24, 2007 at 5:30 am

    Stumbled ;)

  4. judyb12 said, on May 24, 2007 at 5:56 am

    oh, and a gift:

  5. judyb12 said, on May 24, 2007 at 5:56 am

    damn! Here’s the link:

  6. [...] I agree with //engtech who recently opted out of technorati and would not waste my time digging into Technoarti. This entry was written by Jalaj P. Jha and [...]

  7. Jalaj P. Jha said, on May 24, 2007 at 9:17 am

    Hi engtech,
    Congrats for moving to own domain. I too always wanted to add my domain but feared getting to start again with Google after getting a PR4. But if you can do it after a year of hard work and PR6 then that should be worth it.

    You are an inspiration to me. Thanks

  8. Mr Angry said, on May 24, 2007 at 9:21 am

    So I guess I have to update my blogroll now? Good move on your own domain, I’d do it too but I’m too lazy. I’ve never tried to do near as much as you have with Technorati but even simply tracking “ranking” is annoying. The number for me fluctuates daily in ways that simply don’t make sense (i.e their system clearly doesn’t work or at least it doesn’t work consistently)

  9. What's Technorati Anyway? - HTNet said, on May 24, 2007 at 9:40 am

    [...] In case you’re wondering; Yes! It’s a rhetorical question! I’m inspired to write this after reading engtech’s recent post; Opting Out of Technorati – The Break-up. [...]

  10. engtech said, on May 24, 2007 at 9:59 am

    Thanks for the kind words, Jalaj. I’ll keep you posted as to whether or not there’s any hit in traffic and how the new domain fairs in Google.

  11. Rory said, on May 24, 2007 at 10:05 am

    Now you’ve got another one to add to How NOT To Be A Successful Blogger:

    Make absolutely sure that your domain name bears no resemblance to your blog name.

    Kudos, to you!

  12. engtech said, on May 24, 2007 at 10:07 am

    So far the “turn off comments on old posts” is really working to keep spam manageable. I just found two comments that would have been lost normally.

    @Mr Angry: There was a bit of work involve with moving the domain, mainly in changing URLs in posts, which I wrote a script to do.

    Jalaj’s trick to allow me to verify my wordpress.com blogs with Google should get me into the Google index a lot faster.

  13. engtech said, on May 24, 2007 at 10:44 am

    @Rory – all part of a plan. Internet Duct Tape is going to be the new brand I’ll be pimping. More descriptive for what I actually write about than engtech

  14. [...] Breaking Up With Technorati 24 05 2007 Why Engtech has kissed it bye bye. [...]

  15. Winslie Gomez said, on May 24, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    Well written letter, no actually, beautiful and cogent letter. Can I copy the format when breaking up with girlfriend?

  16. links for 2007-05-24 « My Weblog said, on May 24, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    [...] Opting Out of Technorati – The Break-up « //engtech – internet duct tape This guy is fed up with Technorati. I’ve been there. I gave up. (tags: technorati blogosphere search web20) [...]

  17. [...] Finally after a lot of thinking I made to upgrade this blog to my own domain name, thanks to //engtech who also just took this hard step, passing me the [...]

  18. Paula Neal Mooney said, on May 24, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    This is the best thing I’ve read all day.

    I, unlike Technorati, WILL follow you to your new dot com!

  19. jemix said, on May 24, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    Thanks for info !

  20. Mike said, on May 25, 2007 at 12:08 am

    Sweet! Though, I fully didn’t realize that the domain had changed until I had read it in the post. Gratz on snagging the domain too!

  21. [...] 23/05, 16:16 hs: Google gana a Technorati en tiempo de servicio. A las seis horas del apunte anterior ya dice que Technorati es muy malo y que hasta sus mensajes de error son aburridos y no como Twitter, que se caía más pero al menos mostraba gatitos. Incluso pone un enlace a un apunte muy amarillista Engtech también dice adiós a Technorati. [...]

  22. Top Posts « WordPress.com said, on May 25, 2007 at 3:59 am

    [...] Opting Out of Technorati – The Break-up Dear Technorati, I’m writing to say goodbye. With time I hope I’ll have more good things to say than bad, […] [...]

  23. Andy Beard said, on May 25, 2007 at 4:15 am

    Now you just need to break away from .com to .org, though the lack of 301 redirects is a major problem.

  24. Elaine Vigneault said, on May 25, 2007 at 4:32 am

    Congrats on the new domain! A new domain name is a wonderful thing :)

  25. Gordon R. Vaughan said, on May 25, 2007 at 4:53 am

    I’ve used Technorati some, but never really understood exactly how it worked or why they did some of the things the way they did.

    Just from a business point of view, it’s clear they’re a significantly under-capitalized company, the way their servers often overload, and their seeming inability to match the accelerating development pace of others today.

    I still think Technorati is a nice, even fun site when it’s fully working, but that’s not enough of the time. They need a major investment, soon, so they can stay an important player.

  26. ipentimento said, on May 25, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    Well, now I know why the Technorati Faves program is no longer working. :) I do understand your feelings, and I will continue to count you as one of my favorite sites. Congrats on the new domain. I just got my own..it seems, just in time. ;) — webduck

  27. timethief said, on May 26, 2007 at 12:11 am

    I wish you all the best and know that your blog will recover and soar to the top in no time. I’m perplexed that judyb12 was able to stumble your post and I wasn’t. I tried twice and it wouldn’t happen. :(

  28. drmike said, on May 26, 2007 at 12:12 am

    heh heh :)

    Looks like they found you pretty darn quick:

    http://www.technorati.com/blogs/internetducttape.com

    Authority: 23
    Rank: 221,087

    Pretty good for just 24 hours.

  29. Maki said, on May 26, 2007 at 1:04 am

    Very nice, engtech. Congrats on the move to your own domain. It must be liberating. ^-^

    Stumbled as well.. let’s get some fresh stumble blood on this domain. :)

  30. Steve S said, on May 26, 2007 at 2:27 am

    Well played mate, it takes a big leap of faith to give up a PR 6 to get your own domain. In the long run it will be a boon. Technorati, how you have failed us all.

  31. engtech said, on May 26, 2007 at 3:45 am

    @Winslie: Yes you may reproduce it to break up with your girlfriend. Especially if her name is Technonatalie or something.

    @andy: I figure I’ll do 6-12 months more at .com to build up this domain name before spreading my wings. I’d be fine with staying at .com if I could do themes / plugins. I end up jumping through a lot of hoops to do things that would normally be a quick PHP mod. Stuff like using XMLRPC to edit every post on my blog and disable comments on older posts is way more painful on .com. It’s not .com’s fault though, I’m a power user who wants to change everything he can.

    @elaine: I feel like I just got my drivers license.

    @gordon: The main prob with Technorati is that there’s two classes of users… people using it to find things, and people using it to get found. At least with Google Blog Search there’s pretty much only the people trying to find things. The issues I’ve had with Technorati mostly revolve around rank and trying to get my stuff found properly.

    @ipentimento: Actually, it’s still working! I’m not going to give up on my programs just because I person decide not to use the service. I’m going to still use Technorati for search and favoriting other blogs. I’m not going to be a party to the stupid rank/authority games anymore. http://internetducttape.com/tools

    @timethief: StumbleUpon is weird for me lately. I was very surprised that nothing from engtech.wordpress.com was able to get submitted recently.

    @drmike: I think at least half of those are links from myself, or from the various pages it thinks are part of engtech.wordpress.com. Technorati gets confused very easily.

    @maki: It is liberating. Couple of issues still, namely that I haven’t been able to do subdomains (I wanted to point linkblog.internetducttape.com and community.internetducttape.com to tumblrs)

    @stephen: It’ll be interesting to see how long it takes the new domain to get a PR. You’d think that having a PR6 site already re-directing everything would be enough to transfer the juice.

  32. magpie (larah) said, on May 26, 2007 at 3:58 am

    Ah, the fresh crackly crispness of a new domain name; better than sheets dried in the summer sun, no? Congrats.

    I was going to spend some time going back and building decent technorati tags for my early posts. I think I’ll hold off for a while. It looks too much like technorati is working hard to transform itself into an also ran in the all-in-one search sweepstakes.

  33. Web Edinburgh said, on May 26, 2007 at 5:40 am

    How you’ve recently moved to your own domain is great news. I wish you all the very best with it.

    I recently switched from /blog to the root directory and am fully behind your switch. Technorati isn’t everything, by a long shot.

    Your readers are.

    Good move.

  34. Dave Bonta said, on May 26, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    “Now I will focus on content and readers instead of traffic and links.”
    I really appreciate hearing that from a tech blogger near the top of my own personal ranking system. For the vast majority of us, it’s always been about content and readers – and conversation, of course. Welcome to the real blogosphere.

  35. Ilya Lichtenstein said, on May 27, 2007 at 10:17 pm

    Congrats on the domain!

    If you haven’t already, be sure to register your domain with Google Webmaster Tools and set the crawling frequency to “faster”. It will help you get into Google much more quickly.

  36. Elaine Vigneault said, on May 28, 2007 at 3:39 am

    You inspired me to write a Technorati Boycott post:

    http://www.elainevigneault.com/2007/05/27/blog-tools-how-to-boycott-technorati.html

  37. hh said, on May 29, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Come to think about it, 70% of my readers come form Google search and the rest come directly with some 5% from here and there. We have done a lot of technorati favs exchange and stuff (which was helpful in getting to know lots of other blogs and backlinks)…but how come i never have my visitors from Technorati I wonder. And after the makeover, search has become terrible there than better there. I am starting to use google blog search nowadays and it seems much more simpler.

  38. Tinu said, on May 29, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    I broke up with Technorati too. That two-timing Jezebel… we should start a club.

  39. Matt Keegan said, on May 30, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Well said! Technorati has always been a bit of a challenge for me — it’ll claim one blog, but not another — never mind the customer disservice that they provide.

    I’m not tossing the Big T to the side, but I am basically doing my best to ignore it and concentrate on simply blogging better.

  40. [...] Internet Duct Tape presents an overview for the month of May. Worth reading. You can find it at Engtech – internet duct tape, including the decision to break up with Technorati. [...]

  41. digitalnomad said, on June 03, 2007 at 12:58 am

    Good name. Good move. Good luck.

  42. bagel of everything said, on June 04, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Congrats and good luck!

    @judyb12: I love the button! I’ve popped it up on my sidebar, so that when my blog goes wonky, I’ll remember where to go for advice.

  43. Catherine said, on June 13, 2007 at 2:27 am

    I found this article by accident on a Google search and had to leave a post, just in case you come back from time to time to check on your old stomping grounds.
    I love this post, as I was thinking maybe it was just me with Technorati … redheads tend to believe we are the bastard step-children of the world anyway. And here you are posting what I have found! I just assumed I wasn’t technonerd enough to figure out wha da feck Technorati is suppose to really do for my blog.
    Here’s a flash, as a writer I want to write and create in the hopes I will be discovered as the next Erma Bombeck. I just don’t think Technorati will be able to deliver on this request.
    All my best,
    Catherine, the redhead

  44. [...] be costly if you happen to change afterwards since all your content’s value will be lost. Engtech has thus lost all his Technorati value when switching briskly for a new domain name from Engtech.com to [...]

  45. [...] for RSS subscribersWelcome to Internet Duct TapeblogAbout MeDisclosure « Opting Out of Technorati – The Break-up The Programmable Web – Yahoo Pipes [...]

  46. [...] However,  I’m starting to believe several  bloggers who noted that Technorati does not follow  301 redirects are right… so first my authority will sink to close to nothing, than it [...]

  47. [...] add users feeling frustrated at Technorati’s slacker attitude at keeping up to date with people’s [...]

  48. [...] best these are minor annoyances, but at worst they can drive a passionate blogger / user away (case in point: Mr. Engtech has a good list of grievances). I guess in the days to come with regular use we’ll see if any of these issues have been [...]

  49. [...] their rules. We have an “add to technorati” button in our sidebar, but I still advocate breaking things off with Technorati. The more people use their site is the more that they’ll feel entitled to play the bully. h/t [...]

  50. rap said, on September 21, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Now you just need to break away from .com to .org, though the lack of 301 redirects is a major problem.

  51. jammer said, on July 05, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    from .com to .org, though the lack of 301 redirects is a major problem.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

