// Internet Duct Tape

Meme: Blogs that Make Me Think

Posted in Miscellaneous, Technology by engtech on May 15, 2007

I’m horrible at responding to memes, but I can’t start them with a good conscience unless I also participate. I was tagged by Jason and Elaine (and fjetsam) with the Thinking Blog meme. I may have been tagged by someone else as well (leave a comment if so!) but it got lost because I didn’t track it.

The Rules of the Meme

If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think,
Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme,
Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote (here is an alternative silver version if gold doesn’t fit your blog).

What makes a Thinking Blog for me isn’t so much that it makes me think as that it has a distinct voice and challenges popular opinions. If you maybe think about why I don’t agree with you then that’s an A+ in my books.

Scott Adams’ Dilbert blog

I’m legally forced to read the new Dilbert comic every day or else I lose my engineer designation, but reading his blog is something I do by choice. I do not follow mainstream news, so reading Scott Adams’ twisted take on news events is how I “keep current”. I’m particularly fond of his own brand of philosotainment: “philosophy for the sole purpose of entertainment, not enlightenment.”

Violent Acres

Found a few gems in there.

Nicholas Carr’s Rough Type

It’s always weird to read a blog by someone who can actually write. There is a stark contrast in writing style. Nicholas Carr always takes a very contrary view to the pro-technology hype, and that is something I can appreciate to keep me grounded. Unfortunately I don’t read him regularly anymore because he doesn’t use full RSS feeds.

Andy Beard

I respect how passionate he is about web technology and learning everything he possibly can about it, and how he often goes against popular opinion and criticizes the entrenched incumbents of blogging. I don’t always agree with him, but I always feel like I’ve learned something.

Giles Bowkett

Giles is a new discovery for me via Raganwald. I find I’m linking to him at least once a week in my Best of Feeds series. He’s a Ruby programmer and a screenwriter. Definitely more interesting to read than your average programming blog.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Andy Beard said, on May 15, 2007 at 7:19 am

    You are not the only one in meme overload, I still have your Web 2.0 meme on the backburner or “waiting list” – that is a good thing, it means I do really intend to take part soon :)

    There is quite substantial entrenchment out there, but not only that, the entrenched bloggers tend not to link through to people of opposing views.

    My blogging friend Paul actually stuck a nofollow on one link to me on Technorati, but he did still link – he is a great blogger and quite outspoken. It is why I nominated him for this some time ago.

    There will and should always be differences of opinion in blogging, but reading and linking through to those differences of opinion is important, and unfortunately a failing of many notable bloggers.

    Just linked through from my previous nominations, and including a link to my meme tag.

    One of the most annoying things about WordPress.com? Not having sufficient length in the URL entry box to enter a deep link.

  2. The Thinking Blog said, on May 15, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    Great to see you participate.. it was about time someone tagged you for this!

  3. Webomatica said, on May 16, 2007 at 7:42 am

    I saw a recent Dilbert where the boss got a worker to blog for him? I liked it.

    I’m still enjoying the meme thing. In my effort to get less net-addicted, I write the meme’s questions down on paper and look at it later when I’m offline.

  4. jerrywaxler said, on May 16, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    I’d love to find more blogs to make me think. After working to put think-worthy material on my own blog about writing memoirs, I want to relax and read someone else’s thought provoking stuff. But even though I’ve been blogging for a couple of months, I’m new at searching for blogs, and linking to blogs. So one of the things I hope I can start thinking about soon is how to find all those blogs that make me think. I think I’m doing this right. (Let me know if I’m not.) One thing I’ll say for sure. You got me thinking.

    Jerry (www.memorywritersnetwork.com/blog)

  5. [...] Chris nominated me for this, making that 5, in a post all of its own. He describes my blog as essential reading, and essential thinking. [...]

  6. Grouddy said, on April 11, 2009 at 12:52 am

    formidable site this internetducttape.com formidable to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor :)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

