// Internet Duct Tape

Hack – Display Your Technorati Rank in a Sidebar RSS Widget (Dapper + Yahoo Pipes)

Posted in IDT Labs Software Development, Technology, Technorati, Yahoo Pipes by engtech on March 26, 2007

technorati rank imageWordPress.com bloggers can’t use nifty WordPress plugins or Javascript to doing something as simple as displaying their Technorati rank in their sidebar. Dapper.net and Yahoo Pipes both give the users the ability to create their own mashups of existing web services. Neither of them quite get it right — Dapper doesn’t give you enough output / programming options and Yahoo Pipes doesn’t give you an interface for scraping any page the way Dapper does. Which is my long-winded way of saying I got Dapper to create RSS feeds that contain nothing but your Technorati rank.

Of course, the interface to the Dapper RSS feed is less than stellar, which is where Yahoo Pipes comes in. Yahoo Pipes also lets me create several flavours depending on what people want.

See the full list of free software I have created.

You can get frequent updates about all of my new software, tools or blog themes by subscribing to IDT Labs by RSS or by email. Or you could just subscribe to my main blog, Internet Duct Tape.

Subscribe to feed

To Use

1. Pick which ever of the following most appeals to you and click it.

2. Change the URL to your blog. Add any text you want to appear before or after the rank. Click Run Pipe.

technorati rank rss feed yahoo pipes widget

3. Copy the RSS feed link.

technorati rank rss feed yahoo pipes widget copy feed

4. Cut-and-paste the RSS feed link into a sidebar RSS widget and adjust it to only display 1 item. technorati rank rss feed yahoo pipes wordpress sidebar widget

I’m assuming you’re familiar with sidebar widgets. They’re under Dashboard >> Presentation >> Sidebar Widgets. More info.

You can also subscribe to that URL in your RSS reader to track your Technorati Rank changes. I have no idea how often the rank updates — maybe once a day?

If you find this useful please consider adding my blog as a Technorati favorite.

This was a fun project for myself to get familiar with Dapper and Yahoo Pipes. Neither of them are a complete solution on its own, but using Dapper as a web page scraper to create RSS inputs for Yahoo Pipes seems to be an optimal solution for glueing things together on the Internet.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. timethief said, on March 26, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    Hi there I’ve been displaying my Technorati rank and the “favorites” button in my sidebar in a text widget for some time now. I manually updpate it once daily but your idea would provide automatic updating. Thanks for this and for all your do for wordpress.com bloggers. :)

  2. judyb12 said, on March 26, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    You’re amazing. I have favorite-d you :-)

  3. Friedbeef said, on March 28, 2007 at 1:21 am

    Thats a great tip… fave’ed you too :)

  4. [...] Yahoo Pipes RSS feed for Technorati Rank [...]

  5. [...] رتبه وبلاگ درتکنوراتی وبلاگ engtech یک روش جالب معرفی کرده برای نمایش رتبه وبلاگ های [...]

  6. Digest for March 2007 « //engtech said, on April 05, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    [...] Hack – Display Your Technorati Rank in a Sidebar RSS Widget (using Dapper + Yahoo Pipes) This is how I display my Technorati rank of 1900 in my sidebar without javascript or a plugin and have it update automatically. [...]

  7. janesjournal said, on April 06, 2007 at 6:14 am

    This is brilliant! I have added you to my Technorati Faves, which I consider small payment for your great help. Thanks muchly! :)

  8. Lola said, on April 14, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    thank you very much! I have fav’d you!

  9. [...] “types” that work in IT Posted by Lola under new media  I was looking for a workaround to WordPress’s lack of a technorati widget when I found Engtech’s site. I found my widget, but even better, I found a hilarious post by [...]

  10. [...] Customization (Optional) * Change the way you link to Technorati Use the different flavours of Technorati Yahoo Pipes created by engtech.wordpress.com Share This Leave a comment Comment RSS Previous: Google Pagerank Update.. [...]

  11. [...] Display your Technorati Rank in your sidebar This entry was written by engtech and posted on April 24, 2007 at and filed under Miscellaneous, Technology. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL. « Stumbling through //engtech at random (or any wordpress.com blog) 14 Tips to Get More Done in Less Time » [...]

  12. [...] Yahoo Pipes RSS feed for Technorati Rank [...]

  13. Haraye said, on February 07, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    What is captcha code?, pls provide me captcha code codes or plugin, Thanks in advance.

  14. Applebees said, on February 28, 2009 at 6:07 am

    I must say that you provide genuine, quality information. Thanks for this!

    BTW, dpn’t you think your blog needs a better wordpress template?

  15. How to Get Six Pack Fast said, on April 15, 2009 at 10:10 am

    If you ever want to hear a reader’s feedback :) , I rate this article for 4/5. Decent info, but I just have to go to that damn google to find the missed parts. Thank you, anyway!

  16. Seasons said, on October 30, 2010 at 6:22 am

    Best you should edit the post subject Hack – Display Your Technorati Rank in a Sidebar RSS Widget (Dapper + Yahoo Pipes) // Internet Duct Tape to something more better for your blog post you create. I loved the blog post however.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

