// Internet Duct Tape

My Top Must Have Firefox Extensions

Posted in Firefox and Greasemonkey, Technology by engtech on March 24, 2007

I’m always amazed that people use Internet Explorer over Firefox. With the available extensions Firefox becomes the nerve center of your Internet activity. Lifehacker quite often has good suggestions for FF Extensions to try out.

These are what I use. All links go to more information about the extension.

General

Bookmarking / Sharing Sites

  • del.icio.us - I use religiously, even automatically generating blog posts off of it and sharing my del.icio.us links with people on Twitter
  • stumbleupon – not a productivity tool :)

Web Development

  • Greasemonkey – I’ve written several greasemonkey scripts to make blogging with WordPress easier
  • DOM Inspector – needed for coding with Greasemonkey
  • Web Developer – CSS development, mainly because I haven’t figured out Firebug yet. The easiest way to create a skin for a theme without having to spend a lot of time learning the underlying structure – click on an element and find out how to access it.

Some I plan to try out: Firebug, Stylish, IETab, CustomizeGoogle

What do you use/recommend?

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. judyb12 said, on March 24, 2007 at 1:20 am

    My very modest contributions to this topic:
    Reliby (reload your live bookmarks in one click)
    Download Statusbar (i like to see my downloads, but not obtrusively)
    Reload Tab on Doubleclick (does what it says)

  2. Cat said, on March 24, 2007 at 1:35 am

    DownThemAll! and
    Sage

    I couldn’t live without Sage. It’s my life….

    Adblock PLus [as you said] is a must as well.

  3. Michael Sync said, on March 24, 2007 at 7:24 am

    I used to use Firebug for my web development… Firebug is amazing..

  4. qureyoon said, on March 24, 2007 at 8:15 am

    What do you use/recommend?

    – Linkification
    – Smart Bookmarks Bar

  5. Tony said, on March 26, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Can’t live without All-in-one Gestures.

    SEO for Firefox also makes my list.

  6. Peter Binderup said, on March 27, 2007 at 10:22 am

    Firebug is the best extension for productivity – I find it better and quicker to use than Webdeveloper.

    I also use showip – this little extension displays the current webpage’s IP address. Useful for when you are developing on sites on localhost but with the full hostname (edit the host file)

  7. Alpesh Nakar said, on March 28, 2007 at 6:19 am

    Signature and Gmail Skins, Gmail Manager

  8. Lori said, on March 28, 2007 at 7:20 pm

    StumbleUpon is great — but yeah, not for productivity.

    I’ve found I like Cooliris for peeking at links

    I also use GTDGmail — adds useful productivity features to your gmail

    And I use EverNote on my computer, so I’ve got an EverNote grabber extension

  9. passing by said, on April 01, 2007 at 12:07 am

    I find that my most useful extensions are:
    Cooliris Previews – could not do without it – try watching a youtube clip with this and it’ll only show you the video
    Forecastfox – always good to know what the weather is like
    IE Tab – sometimes you need IE functions..
    Adblock – goes without saying.

    These are musts for a good firefox experience :D

  10. Khaidar said, on April 06, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    DownThemAll and VideoDownloader. I use them to download video from youtube.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

