// Internet Duct Tape

Looking for Guest Bloggers and Contest Deadline Extended

Posted in Internet Duct Tape News, Technology by engtech on March 14, 2007

Work is very busy at the moment (no, the slow down in posts has not been entirely from TGC) and there will be a week or two during the month of April when I will be completely “away-from-keyboard” and not have access to the net.

It kind of sucks because I may miss my one year anniversary of blogging!

Guest Bloggers

So I’m looking for some guest bloggers. I’ve only had one guest-blogged post so far and it did around 10,000 hits. This can be a great opportunity to reach a wider audience, and to help me out. Read more about why you should guestblog and how to be a good guestblogger at problogger.net.

Stats from the guestblogger post:

Guest blogger - Life in the Trenches stats

According to my WordPress.com stats //engtech now has around 900 RSS subscribers and gets between 6,000-9,000 page views a day (more if a post goes viral). It is a PR6 site (Technorati ranking: ~2,000) and usually does very well in search rankings.

Subject matter should be able something I’d normally write about: how-tos, lifehacks, blogging, programming, development, geeky stuff… of course, I’m pretty much all over the place so it isn’t as limited as you might think.

Older posts are fine if you’re okay with having it republished here.

If you are interested then please contact me with a 3-5 sentence pitch for your post at this email address .

You will get

  • a byline/bio-paragraph at the top of the post and
  • a link to your blog at the beginning/ending of your post along with
  • any relevant links to other posts on your blog you include in the article.

The deadline for pitches is March 24th, 2007 and the deadline for the final article is April 1st, 2007.

Contest Deadline Extension

Because I am stupidly busy I haven’t been holding up my end of the bargain with the contests I’ve been running in-terms of linking back to the participants and picking out my favorites. The current contest is being extended to March 31st, 2007 and the next contest won’t start until the third or fourth week of April.

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. engtech said, on March 14, 2007 at 2:51 am

    and before the conspiracy theories start, no the deadline extension isn’t to get more links. It literally is because I haven’t been holding up my end of the bargain and I won’t be able to award a winner this week :)

    Plus I won’t be able to run the next one until late April and there are several issues with leaving comments on wordpress.com blogs at the moment which might mean that I’m missing entries.

  2. sulz said, on March 14, 2007 at 8:37 am

    i’d love to give it a shot, but i think it’s more painful to be chosen and have my stats shot up like a syringe in my arse and then having blog stats depression from my usual insignificant amount of hits after. :P

  3. engtech said, on March 14, 2007 at 8:54 am

    Stats are like a drug. Once you’ve hit a new peak there’s always a let down that it isn’t like that all the time.

    And to clarify, the stats graph is the traffic on the guestblogger post, not the referral traffic to his blog.

  4. raincoaster said, on March 14, 2007 at 9:32 am

    So what’s the clickthrough rate to the guest blogger’s site? Some of us are quite venial when it comes to stats (not that I know anything about tech, but I’m good at making shit up).

  5. engtech said, on March 14, 2007 at 9:45 am

    Hard to tell at this point in time (it was last October), but I believe it was a couple of hundred.

  6. engtech said, on March 14, 2007 at 10:05 am

    And RC, it doesn’t have to be tech related, just in somewhat of the same vein as the subjects I’d usually post about.

    If you took your comments from this thread on pseudo-anonymity and organized them a bit it would make an awesome guest post. As would something on the subject of “blogging for hits”, or being ahead of your time.

    Something like Sulz’s guide to the wordpress.com forums would also have been a great guest post.

    A newbs guide to getting started with wordpress.com would be excellent as well (stuff like check the wordpress.com/blog for new features, here’s the FAQ, how to search the faq, here are the forums, how to search the forums), how there’s no javascript and no ads allowed…

  7. engtech said, on March 14, 2007 at 10:08 am

    It doesn’t have to be tech related, just in somewhat of the same vein as the subjects I’d usually post about. I do write blog tips and opinion pieces on the web as well as the programming stuff.

    If you took your comments from this thread on pseudo-anonymity and organized them a bit it would make an awesome guest post. As would something on the subject of “blogging for hits”, or being ahead of your time.

    Something like Sulz’s guide to the wordpress.com forums would also have been a great guest post.

    A newbs guide to getting started with wordpress.com would be excellent as well (stuff like check the wordpress.com/blog for new features, here’s the FAQ, how to search the faq, here are the forums, how to search the forums), how there’s no javascript and no ads allowed…

  8. engtech said, on March 14, 2007 at 10:10 am

    (sorry, links had to be removed to get past the various wordpress.com comment bugs that are happening)

    It doesn’t have to be tech related, just in somewhat of the same vein as the subjects I’d usually post about. I do write blog tips and opinion pieces on the web as well as the programming stuff.

    If you took your comments from the thread on pseudo-anonymity and organized them a bit it would make an awesome guest post. As would something on the subject of “blogging for hits”, or being ahead of your time.

    Something like Sulz’s guide to the wordpress.com forums would also have been a great guest post.

    A newbs guide to getting started with wordpress.com would be excellent as well (stuff like check the wordpress.com/blog for new features, here’s the FAQ, how to search the faq, here are the forums, how to search the forums), how there’s no javascript and no ads allowed…

  9. sulz said, on March 14, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    oh my god, i nearly wanted to send you an email pitching that as a guest post! feel free to republish it if you aren’t tempted by other offers, seriously.

  10. engtech said, on March 14, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    Will do.

  11. [...] Bloggers Wanted on Engtech The popular Engtech is looking for guest bloggers to blog in April. Subject matter should be able something I’d normally write about: how-tos, [...]

  12. [...] Engtech, one of the most popular tech bloggers on Wordpress if not the whole blogosphere, is looking for Guest Bloggers. He’s actually running a contest on it. So, if you’re one of who those who wants to [...]

  13. Engtech Looking For Guest Bloggers said, on March 20, 2007 at 1:56 am

    [...] submitted. To participate, shoot an email with your post idea by March 24, 2007 (for the address go here). Final articles are due by April 1, [...]

  14. A.J. Valliant said, on March 22, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    I got your back *** (name redacted as I relized I used Engtech real name out of habit)

    Give me a general topic area and I’ll try and fill the gap in April

  15. Alpesh Nakar said, on March 23, 2007 at 4:36 am

    Emailed :-)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

