// Internet Duct Tape

Most Popular Posts for February 2007

Posted in Links, Popular Posts, Technology by engtech on March 01, 2007

I used to write these statistics posts once a month when I first started blogging. I’ve stopped for the most part, but decided to write this one because February 2007 was the highest traffic month I’ve had so far on //engtech.

Page Views

10 days of the month with over 10,000 hits on each day… I doubt I’ll be repeating that any time soon.

Technorati

(There was a 10 hour lag between the graphs, explaining the 50 point jump)

It looks like I may soon be one of the top 2,000 most linked to blogs.

 

RSS Readers

You can really see the problem of split feeds in the discrepancy between the Feedburner reader stats and the WordPress.com reader stats. I wish they’d give us WordPress.com users the option to overwrite our auto-discovery feed (or at least add others).

One thing the WordPress.com reader stats does wrong is that it counts hits from people who aren’t reading your feed. If you get linked to by another blog or a social bookmarking site and someone is reading THAT site using RSS then it temporarily increases your reader stats. See how the spikes mirror the traffic spikes that came from Digg, Reddit, Lifehacker and Problogger.net?

I think the real reader stats are between 560-860 but I have no way of telling.

 

 

 

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. raincoaster said, on March 01, 2007 at 10:58 am

    I’m surprised, with your geeky demographic, that your feed readers aren’t higher relative to your browser readers. That just seems quite odd to me.

  2. engtech said, on March 01, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    That’s my feedburner stats, which unfortunately are a lot lower than my total stats. Because I can’t change my main feed I end up getting a split between http://engtech.wordpress.com/feed and http://feeds.feedburner.com/engtech

    The wordpress.com feed stats show between 560-860 readers.

  3. Jalaj P. Jha said, on March 01, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    I was cought by your blog which ate up hours of mine. I think I contributed to more than 100 of hits to your site today. Got to learn a lot from your success story and the other posts.

  4. engtech said, on March 01, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    Thanks, Jalaj :)

  5. engtech said, on March 01, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    I updated the post to include the wp.com reader stats graph.

  6. Webomatica said, on March 01, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    Just one question: any particular reason why you haven’t bought a domain name and gotten off of WP.com? Just curious. You’re kicking tail here…

  7. engtech said, on March 01, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    me so lazy :)

    I also haven’t heard good things about starting fresh with new domains…

  8. alejna said, on March 02, 2007 at 6:20 am

    Wow. Your stats are quite impressive. (And humbling.) I’m a bit of a stats junkie myself (though I try to limit myself to checking at most 5 times per minute…I mean, per day!) so I’m fascinated to see some stats from a site that gets actual traffic. Thanks for sharing this!

  9. raincoaster said, on March 02, 2007 at 7:22 am

    Yeah, don’t be blowing a Technorati ranking like that just for cosmetic reasons. If people can still find Go Fug Yourself even though it’s at typepad and Pharyngula over at Scienceblogs, they can find you here (and are doing it!).

    If your T ranking isn’t so high yet you can always pay WordPress for a custom domain and swap over to self-hosted WP later with no interruptions, or so I would assume. It’s unlikely they’d hold your URL hostage.

    Although GoDaddy would.

  10. engtech said, on March 02, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    @rc:

    Yup. It would be purely cosmetic. If I moved to self-hosted it would only be for the greater control I’d have with plugins, etc. Even then I don’t think I’d do that much to add advertising.

  11. quotes said, on March 03, 2007 at 11:15 pm

    @engtech – I found this post so you don’t need to respond at the other comment.

    Thanks anyway,

    Now I really don’t get it.

    Your site is back in the top blogs list and mine is still not.

    I thought it had something to do with large spikes followed by return to normal traffic but apparently not.

    Your fall after Valentine’s d\Day was even steeper than mine.

    Curiouser and curiouser.

  12. engtech said, on March 05, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    @quotes:

    Getting on the top blogs is all about having “new” posts doing a moderate amount of traffic. You don’t need a lot, if you can write something and then get 100-300 hits on that post within a few days of writing it then you’ll hit the top blogs.

    If I look at three of the posts I wrote this week:
    - Missing Curriculum for Programmers: 2,196
    - Getting Started with Google Code hosting: 416
    - What’s a URL to do?: 254

    Getting a fair amount of hits on a new post is what puts you on the WordPress.com top blogs list.


    The traffic spike I was getting on VD had only a little bit to do with VD and a lot to do with one of my posts being on the front page of Digg, Delicious and Lifehacker that day.

  13. Digest for March 2007 « //engtech said, on April 05, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    [...] Most Popular Posts for February 2007 [...]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

