// Internet Duct Tape

Show Your Geek Love with Code Poetry (in Perl)

Posted in Humor, Perl, Technology by engtech on February 14, 2007

Nerd Valentine Day Geek LoveI’ve seen a few posts going around the net about geek Valentine’s Day ideas. If you really want to geek out why not go back a few years and use some Perl poetry?

Reprinted without permission.

# open HEART by Eric Windisch, Feb 15, 1999

   open (HEART, ">for_me");
   for ($this-valentines-day; $you and $me; $together++) {
     $you = "My special one";
     $me = "Your darling";
   }

   %time = ($you => $me, $together => "forever");
   while ($you = push(@me, @away)) {
     foreach (@second) {
       die a_bit to my $death;
       goto hell;
     }

     pack $my_bags, @and_leave;
     package my_love;
     unless(!$i_see_you) {
       write YOU_SOON;
     }
   }

   reverse keys %time;
   bless me;
   for (last; kill $me;) {
     if ($you) {
       die;
     }
   }

# rush by Sharon Hopkins, June 26, 1991

    'love was'

      && 'love will be' if
	(I, ever-faithful),
	  do wait, patiently;

    "negative", "worldly", values disappear,

      @last, 'love triumphs';

    join (hands, checkbooks),
      pop champagne-corks,

	"live happily-ever-after".

	  "not so" ?
	    tell me: "I listen",

	      (do-not-hear);

    push (rush, hurry) && die lonely if not-careful;

    "I will wait."

      &wait

# Perl Haiku by Mike Badger

    my $Life;			#Defineing my life
    $Life=$me || $you		#A Union of Me and you
      if ($ourLove);		#if our love is true.

# Perl Haiku by Bob Meyers

    use strict; my @love;
    my $wounds = open(FLAME, "of_passion");
    foreach (<FLAME>) {
      push @love "fully";
    }

More Perl Poetry Links

Related Posts

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Webomatica said, on February 14, 2007 at 9:16 am

    I know a lot of women would like a $string of Perls for V day.

    Sorry couldn’t resist.

  2. Daniel said, on February 14, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Yeah I am not sure about this one also :)

    Personally I would rather go with the traditional chocolate box.

  3. [...] …via //engtech [...]

  4. [...] reprints some Perls of code poetry for Valentine’s [...]

  5. [...] Show your love with code poetry [...]

  6. [...] Show Your Geek Love with Code Poetry (in Perl) This entry was written by engtech and posted on February 21, 2007 at and filed under Monthly Digest, Technology. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL. « National Engineering Week Tag Cloud Generator for Wordpress.com » [...]

  7. links for 2008-02-09 -- Chip’s Quips said, on February 09, 2008 at 3:31 am

    [...] Show Your Geek Love with Code Poetry (in Perl) « // Internet Duct Tape My wife said she likes Perls, but somehow this didn’t go over… (tags: poetry programming perl) [...]

  8. Happy Valentine’s Day said, on February 15, 2008 at 12:16 am

    [...] And then there is Perl code poetry. [...]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

