// Internet Duct Tape

//engtech now has asides

Posted in Asides, Internet Duct Tape News, Technology by engtech on January 19, 2007

I’ve joined the 21st century and now with a clever CSS hack from Andy I have asides (just like Matt). I love the CSS upgrade so much, it isn’t possible without it. The way I am doing it is automatically publishing my del.icio.us links of the day at 7pm EST to the ‘asides’ category. You can see what it looks like here.

I’ve changed my FeedBurner feed so that the asides category is not put in the feed and only appears on the blog. Every now and then I’ll be posting a “Best of Feeds” amalgamation that includes all the asides since the last time I posted it.

If you are subscribed using the http://internetducttape.com/feed I recommend switching to the FeedBurner feed instead so that you don’t get overly spammed with my asides. You’ll notice if it starts happening.

Subscribe to feed Subscribe to feed

And I think that was a record 4 posts in one day. I’ll be returning to your regularly scheduled 1 post a day. :)

If anyone is interested in a how-to guide for doing asides on WordPress.com blogs with the CSS upgrade, drop a comment.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. adam said, on January 19, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    very nice! clever way of stripping them out of the feed, too.

  2. Jason said, on January 20, 2007 at 3:24 am

    I’m confused…I didn’t think I, as a wordpress.com user, could use Feedburner. Am I missing something?

    The asides are great. Would you mind passing some tips my way? jason.rehmus at gmail

  3. engtech said, on January 20, 2007 at 7:01 am

    Hi Jason.

    Anyone can use FeedBurner, there just isn’t (yet) an easy way of changing your default feed to be FeedBurner instead of wordpress.com/feed.

    I’ll write up a tutorial for asides, the quick version is at this forum thread: http://wordpress.com/forums/topic.php?id=3390&replies=21

    In order to do asides on WordPress.com you need the CSS Upgrade. As luck would have it, I’m giving one away in a contest: http://engtech.wordpress.com/2007/01/18/win-wordpresscom-credits-engtech-contest-1/

  4. mpb said, on January 23, 2007 at 11:24 am

    I got lost in the site changes, somehow.

    Are asides the large pop-ups that obscure your posts (like the snap views)? The pop-up contains some comments to whatever they link to.

    Are they related to those scrolling number tabs on the side of the blog which have tool-tips called page 1, page 2? Do the pages refer to “pages” or to the archives of posts?

  5. mpb said, on January 23, 2007 at 11:27 am

    Also, am I not seeing things or do your archives lose their dates in summary (tabbie) view?

  6. The Rooster said, on January 23, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    Thanks for the tip with subscribing. I can’t stand what I call “link dumping” into feeds. Nice.

  7. engtech said, on January 23, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    @mpb: I don’t show the post dates anywhere on the site… but I probably should for the archive pages.

    “asides” are usually short posts that people don’t consider to be “real posts”. If you click on the “Main” page of my site you’ll see links in between some of my posts. These are my asides.

    As I surf the net every day I keep bookmark what I find interesting to del.icio.us. Del.icio.us has a feature that will automatically post these links to your blog every day. I don’t want them to show up as full blog posts though, so I use CSS to make them only show the link title (until you hover your mouse over them).

    I’ve also set it up so that this automatic posts from del.icio.us don’t go into my FeedBurner RSS feed (because like Rooster, I *hate* that).

    This is an example of an aside: http://engtech.wordpress.com/2007/01/19/links-for-2007-01-19/


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

