// Internet Duct Tape

Too Much Spam – Blacklisting .info because it gets through Akismet

Posted in Technology, The War on Spam by engtech on January 10, 2007

The .info domain was created in late 2000 / early 2001. Since then it has been very popular with over 3 million registered sites. Most of those sites are used for “independent businesses” aka spam. It really should have been called .spam to do everyone a favour.

Someone has recently realized how Akismet works and been sending a deluge of comment spam (one every three minutes) using .info domain names with only one or two keywords (changing the name and email used every time).

So it’s finally time for me to close the doors on .info. I can save a lot of hassle by automatically deleting any comments that contain .info.

Go to Dashboard >> Options >> Discussion

blacklist-info-menu.png

Add .info to the Comment Blacklist

blacklist-info.png

Apologies in advance to the 0.5% of real commenters who will get hit by this. Luckily I have Akismet Auntie Spam to easily check my spam queue for real comments. I’ll probably have to add .biz within the month. :)

Related Posts

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jhay said, on January 11, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    I use another anti-spam plugin, matriphe’s keycode, alongside Akismet. The duo has been great so far. The only comments I had to moderate where comments from first-time real human readers. Been spam-less since last December. :D

  2. Brent said, on January 24, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    I was wondering why some spam was getting through lately. I didn’t notice this, but I will try it for sure. Thanks for the tip.

    By the way, your blog is looking great! I’d have to say, you probably have one of the best designs for a wordpress.com hosted blog that I have seen so far.

    I wish I knew how to design this well. You ought to post a howto on how you were able to do some of this stuff. It really looks amazing!

  3. engtech said, on January 25, 2007 at 6:03 am

    Thanks Brent. It’s been a work in progress. :)

    Pretty much all of it is with sidebar text widgets and then using CSS to play them in different places on the page.

  4. Brent said, on January 25, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    What’s the thing on the far right side of the page? I can only see half of it. And what about the numbers for the pages? How in the world did you do all of that?

    I need to read the forums I guess or look at your source perhaps. Man I wish I could make my blog look halfway this cool. I’ve been struggling with the simplest things. I’m still trying to figure out the sandbox tags. I feel like such a moron, having taken two html courses in college, including css.

    I’ve got to learn the tags for sandbox. You wouldn’t happen to have any link(s) that you could point me to, in order to get started with this would you?

    Don’t get me wrong either. I think your content is equally great. If you remember, I was visiting your blog long before you had the custom design, and have left several comments in the past.

  5. engtech said, on January 25, 2007 at 7:36 pm

    Far right side is a popup with a list of “Featured Posts”. What resolution are you running?

    I should come up with a way of only displaying it if the resolution is big enough.

    Like everything, CSS is all about the right tools. You need a text editor with syntax highlighting, and the Web Developer extension for Firefox. https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/60/

    After installing the extension, hit Ctrl-Shift-F on a page and mouse-over an element to see all the classes/ids/hierarchy it has.

  6. Brent said, on January 26, 2007 at 3:04 am

    I know about the tools, I was just wondering how you were able to do all of this and how you figured out so much about Sandbox. I haven’t had a lot of luck yet, given my limited time.

    Are there other tags available to use that are not included with the css that is made available from the link in the css editor? What is it that I am missing?

    In other words, are there hidden tags that we can use, but we have to find somehow? It’s very confusing to me.

  7. engtech said, on January 26, 2007 at 3:22 am

    No, there aren’t any hidden tags. What you do is use combinations of tags to access different things. That’s why I mentioned that Firefox extension, it does an amazing job of finding out what you’re trying to target without having to look at the raw HTML code.

    You can also put text widgets in the sidebar with your own SPAN CLASS=”” ID=”” HTML elements and then move them to different places using the CSS position property.

  8. Brent said, on January 26, 2007 at 10:46 am

    What you do is use combinations of tags to access different things

    Combinations of tags. Do you mean combining tags? I’m not following. How is this possible? You’re really confusing me now.

  9. engtech said, on January 26, 2007 at 11:01 am

    I’ll do up an intro to CSS post some time soon… I don’t think I can explain it in comments.

  10. Brent said, on January 27, 2007 at 5:11 am

    As I have said, I already am familiar with CSS. I took two courses on it. I don’t need a lesson in CSS. I just am curious how you did some of this with Sandbox. Nevermind I guess. I’ll just have to figure it out myself.

    Good luck.

  11. engtech said, on January 27, 2007 at 6:43 am

    The only real trick is to stick HTML in a sidebar text widget and then using CSS position to put it other places.

    Another trick is to use the tags on the body to change certain things for a specific category.

    body.category-hello-world div.sidebar li.hello-world {
    background-color: #777;
    }

    A lot of the mouseover stuff is done with a:hover

    I learned the Sandbox tags by using the Web Developer extension and then Ctrl-Shift-F so that it will tell me the full hierarchy of whatever element my mouse is hovering over.

  12. Brent said, on January 27, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Okay, I’ll mess with that. Thanks dude.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

