// Internet Duct Tape

Three new themes and Bryan is leaving WordPress

Posted in Asides, CSS and Web Design, Technology by engtech on December 08, 2006

Bryan Velesco (Avalonstar) is parting ways with WordPress. While Bryan was with WordPress he had this to say about my Theme Review series:

Thanks for the review. These have really helped a lot in not only solidifying my knowledge of the template system, but getting rid of these damn bugs too. What you said about ChaoticSoul is really flattering, since I hold it so dear… I might have to fix the little annoyances that you and timethief are finding so it can be the best theme there is. ;)

Also, I’ll be trying to make my wordpress blog the place where I store all major theme updates that don’t fit onto the .com blog, so keep your eyes there too.

I don’t know any details (not officially announced yet), but we’ve known for a while that Matt Thomas is on board.

I wouldn’t be surprised if the recent spout of theme releases is related to Bryan leaving, and why there was a name error with the 281 theme by Paul Stamatiou and Neil Patel (plug: I subscribe to both of their blogs — they’re excellent).

UPDATE: Nope, not an error. This is Eli Foner’s extension of 281 called 2813.

Bryan has this to say about his departure:

Automattic and I are parting ways. Thinking about it now, I see the reason being a more fundamental one. The way I work just didn’t fit with their expectations. I could get into how the expectations for designers and programmers differ, or how using Trac to measure output might not be the best way to track my progress. Honestly, that would do nothing for the situation. It was an awesome four months working with some of the smartest minds in the business. I know they’ll get far.

I wish him luck with his future endevours, and I’ll be keeping my eye on his work (when looking for CSS ideas to steal).

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. adam said, on December 08, 2006 at 2:56 am

    wow.

    using Trac to measure output might not be the best

    that’s the dumbest thing since ever. i should have realized that they would have no idea how to use a designer, but that’s worse than i would have guessed.

  2. engtech said, on December 08, 2006 at 3:09 am

    I’m not going to speculate any more on the situation because I don’t know anything about it, other than my opinion that themes are where WP.com falls down (but it’s getting better).

    I have to say I’m much happier with the CSS upgrade than trying to run themes out of the box. :) But I think that’s because I get to frustrated by other design choices I can’t change.

    I’d love to see a few sandbox derivatives that use the same CSS selectors but with a completely different template (like only showing the main post and having a sidebar with excerpts of the other posts around it).

  3. Kory Twaites said, on December 08, 2006 at 4:37 am

    Bryan Veloso** Yeah, it’s sad to see him go

  4. code v. poetry « wordpress™ wank said, on December 08, 2006 at 4:56 pm

    [...] Via engtech, the news that Bryan Veloso is no longer with Automattic. [...]

  5. ultradolphin said, on December 22, 2006 at 6:12 pm

    engtech

    Your blog is different in that your pages (i.e. articles, opinions) are dynamic rather than static. Is this functionality something that you hacked in?

  6. engtech said, on December 22, 2006 at 10:02 pm

    @ultadolphin:

    I’m pointing to category/tag pages instead of static pages. This is a hack that was possible with the custom CSS upgrade.

  7. ultradolphin said, on December 24, 2006 at 4:37 am

    A discussion at WP.com forum prompts me to suggest a topic which you might want to write about someday. An overview of the type of functional enhancements that can be made through the CSS upgrade would be helpful. Most WP.com bloggers probably aren’t aware that improvements in functionality are even possible.

  8. engtech said, on December 24, 2006 at 11:06 pm

    I’ll think about it. An article like that would be more of a tutorial on what CSS can or can’t do — unfortunately, I am by no means an expert.

  9. BOOLsuT said, on December 07, 2008 at 4:07 am

    Similar theme read on what that already a blog, but here certainly it is described more interestingly. Thanks the author of a blog.Скачать безплатно фильм терминатор

  10. Usdating said, on January 10, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    I’ve made it to the end. Thanks for putting it together. Lots of things I didn’t know. BOOKMARKED!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

