// Internet Duct Tape

The Secret to Blog Success is in the Title

Posted in Marketing and Promotion, Technology by engtech on November 22, 2006

Modern Life is Rubbish has a good quick read on title do’s and don’ts that goes well with Copy Blogger’s series on magnetic headlines (CopyBlogger is one of those must read websites for bloggers).

Having a good title is the easiest way to increase readership. There is usually a relationship that one out of five people will read an article after seeing the title. It’s worth taking the time to improve that ratio.

  1. Why You Should Always Write Your Headline First
  2. The Cheater’s Guide to Writing Great Headlines
  3. Do Key Words in Post Titles Really Matter?
  4. How to Write a Killer “How To” Post That Gets Attention
  5. 7 Reasons Why List Posts Will Always Work
  6. Why Some People Almost Always Write Great Post Titles
  7. 10 Sure-Fire Headline Formulas That Work

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. raincoaster said, on November 23, 2006 at 8:10 pm

    When in doubt, any combination of the words “Britney” “Sex” and “Video” will work.

  2. engtech said, on November 23, 2006 at 9:34 pm

    I was pretty surprised at how much traffic I got from being on page five of the search results for “paris hilton sex tape”.

    Of course, I’m pretty sure that stunt got me on some cybernanny block lists based on people complaining that they couldn’t access my site anymore afterwards.

  3. raincoaster said, on November 24, 2006 at 9:35 am

    I bet they wanted you all the more for it! The elusive is the more desireable. Or you could always turn to the dark side and work for Fleshbot and literally pimp your blog.

  4. jaybird said, on December 04, 2006 at 10:37 pm

    The secret to blog success is in the sauce.

  5. engtech said, on December 05, 2006 at 3:03 am

    I saw your “secret sauce” post:

    http://beatsentropy.com/2006/12/04/why-weeds-is-my-favorite-new-tv-series/

  6. Ajay said, on September 01, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Here is a blog about the secret to not only blogs, but everything in life!

    lovelifeandthelawofattraction.blogspot.com/

  7. Allen Loomis said, on November 21, 2008 at 2:57 am

    Great Blog, I’m interested in adding you to my blog roll. If I add you will you add me? I plan on stopping by often :)

    http://www.Napoleonhillslaw.com

    Yours truly
    Allen Loomis

  8. arhiderrr said, on February 28, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Nice article


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

