// Internet Duct Tape

iPod vs Zune – Indepth Side by Side Feature Comparison Just In Time for Christmas

Posted in Gadgets, Technology by engtech on November 18, 2006

The Microsoft Zune is available for purchase and now the age old battle of rivals has entered the digital music player market. Which is better? I have an iPod and I’ve never laid my hands on a Zune, so rather than repeat web hyperbole I’ll link to it instead.

(Ah, blog posts that just seem to write themselves)

BBSpot does a side-by-side comparison of the Zune and iPod based on the most important features that most tech journals have been ignoring. They’ve done the same for Firefox vs Internet Explorer in case you were wondering. Great reading for a friday afternoon.

For a more serious comparison:

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Josh Chandler said, on November 18, 2006 at 1:22 am

    I have just recently bought the Apple IPOD 8gb and am very happy with it. I not so sure I’ll be buying the Zune i mean the thing that put me off from buying it was the sharing functionality I was really hoping they could do something with it you know like worthwile for the user

  2. engtech said, on November 18, 2006 at 1:34 am

    Yeah, I know what you mean. When I first heard about the wi-fi I thought “wow, this could really change things”, but it is so crippled.

    Did you hear the Steve Jobs quote about sharing music? Walk over, talk to someone and offer them an ear bud.

  3. Harvey said, on November 18, 2006 at 10:05 am

    No argument that the Wi-Fi is pretty limited in Zune, but even in its limited form, at least it offers *something* to facilitate music sharing.

    A song sent wirelessly, even on a trial basis, is a step forward from the iPod method – – which is either borrowing someone’s earbuds (ewww…), or writing down the name of a song so that you can download it later from iTunes. C’mon Apple, that is so 2001… :)

  4. Harvey said, on November 18, 2006 at 10:06 am

    I should add the disclaimer that I run Zunerama. And, thank you for the link to our Zune FAQ.

    -Harvey
    Editor, Zunerama
    http://www.zunerama.com

  5. engtech said, on November 18, 2006 at 8:42 pm

    Oh, much agreement. If cell phones could get their act together there’d be a lot of opportunity for them to take over the digital music market.

    – always with you
    – internet/wi-fi capable
    – amount of memory is in the same range as the iPod Nano (which is all you really need — after a certain amount it becomes to hard to find songs easily)

    I think Pandora and Last.fm have huge potential (I’ve essentially switched from download music to listening to last.fm), and are eventually the future of portable digital music players.

  6. engtech said, on November 19, 2006 at 2:15 am

    and thanks for the disclosure Harvey. :)

  7. Immy Roze said, on December 17, 2006 at 2:02 am

    How much are ipods on boxing day?


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

