// Internet Duct Tape

Spreading the Internet Explorer 7 Hate

Posted in Firefox and Greasemonkey, Technology by engtech on October 19, 2006

UPDATE: Read this for information on how to uninstall Internet Explorer 7 and reinstall Internet Explorer 6.

This is going to be a quicky as I don’t have a lot of time to post.

Internet Explorer 7 is out (also here and comments here).

Of course, this same week the latest release candidate for Firefox 2.0 came out. Word on the street is that Firefox 2 is noticably faster than IE 7.

Upgrading to IE 7 might be a bad idea as at least one person has completely fragged his computer with it (more a Windows Update problem than an IE 7 problem). Oh yeah, and the first IE 7 security vulnerability has already been found (translated to english here, comments here).

And this is a good read about How Web 2.0 Starts with Internet Explorer 7 (except that the server is completely hosed). Internet Explorer 7 is going to be a big deal for the web because it is the first version of Internet Explorer with RSS support (which is better than Firefox’s RSS support).

Of course, Firefox is highly extensible and it gets amazingly better at RSS once you use persistent.info‘s Firefox Extensions. He works for Google and does a great job of creating little tools to enhance Google web apps.

UPDATE: I’ve been trying Google Reader in Gmail. It’s awesome, I’m switching from Bloglines.

UPDATE: Read/Write Web has an excellent review of IE 7.

IE 7 is a huge improvement over IE 6. There is evidence of really good effort and innovation here – but there are also traces of the old IE that just do not fit. It seems like the IE team was pressured to release the tool (because of what Firefox is bringing out) before they had a chance to rethink and redo everything. Hopefully the shortcomings will be cleaned up in IE 8 – and that we won’t have to wait another five years before it comes out!

The bigger question is how does IE7 compare to Firefox 2.0 and is it enough to hang on to IE’s huge market share? This is a tough question to answer… but in terms of performance, cohesiveness of features and availability of add-ons – Firefox 2.0 is in better shape right now.

25 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kristin K. W. said, on October 20, 2006 at 12:44 am

    I think Microsoft has lost the challenge of the web a long time ago, if IE wasn’t bundled in with Windows, no one would have used it.

  2. engtech said, on October 20, 2006 at 12:56 am

    But that bundling with Windows did give it huge marketshare.

    I don’t think Firefox would have done nearly as well if there hadn’t been 2 years+ between IE 6 and IE 7.

  3. foolswisdom said, on October 20, 2006 at 3:32 am

    2+ years? Try 5 or 6 depending how you count.

  4. David Naylor said, on October 20, 2006 at 3:40 am

    You mean 5+ years?

  5. engtech said, on October 20, 2006 at 7:20 am

    I was going from the IE 6 SP2 date of Aug 2004, but you guys are right that IE 6 was March 2001. ;)

  6. James said, on October 20, 2006 at 11:31 pm

    She’s hot! If she came with IE 7, I’d try it. Otherwise, I’m sticking with Firefox.

  7. Spreading the Firefox 2 Love « //engtech said, on October 26, 2006 at 1:39 am

    [...] Spreading the Internet Explorer 7 Hate >> Geek to Live: Top Firefox 2 config tweaks – Lifehacker >> Firefox 2 First Impressions [...]

  8. Gavin said, on October 28, 2006 at 11:51 am

    I cannot use IE 7 as it fails to connect. IE 6 worked fine. I now use firefox. Some messages said reset all settings to default. Did not work. Some said ensure that it detected internet settings automatically (install switches this off for some reason) – was unchecked now checked but still does not work. Seems to open a second window but I can never see what it is saying. In summary IE 7 stinks and I do not know how to go back to 6.

  9. engtech said, on October 29, 2006 at 8:46 pm

    Don’t go back, Firefox is great. :)

  10. Logan said, on November 01, 2006 at 11:34 pm

    Firefox rules! great pic. i think the delicious Firefox plugin is better than Google’s bookmarking service although I do use both. Opera is also useful to have around sometimes. Between those two browsers there isn’t any reason to use IE7!

  11. kyle said, on November 03, 2006 at 1:11 am

    man i used to love firefox until 2.0 came out….when you hit “/” to look for specific words on a site the next word, previous word, and etc… were gone. This is important for me and i know it’s just a tiny thing missing but it’s a problem for me. Another thing about firefox 2 is that on two computers I installed it on, it’s been real buggy. On one computer I got a BSOD (blue screen of death) while on the best site in the world apple.com (lol). The other computer firefox is s-s-s-s-sl-l-l-oooo-owww-ww. I scanned for viruses on both cpus but nothing except magnets and some adaware were found. OMG another thing i hate about it is the new menu, no more tabs. It just makes it harder to use because i’m just so use to the other layout.

  12. Rakesh Goel said, on November 06, 2006 at 11:44 pm

    Will these localized version have the recent security issues patched? there are already 3 or so out in secunia, and IE7 is out since ONE FULL WEEK.

  13. [...] Text under Internet Explorer (?) [...]

  14. Ivonne Rovira said, on November 17, 2006 at 3:03 am

    Help! I upgraded to IE7, and, boy, am I sorry! How do I revert to IE6?

  15. engtech said, on November 17, 2006 at 10:52 am

    @ivonne:

    Honestly, the least stressful advice I can give you is download Firefox 2.0 and start loving it. It’s a much better program, and you won’t have nearly the same headaches (other than occasionally stumbling across banks that only support IE).

    but if you don’t go for that, here’s two potential workarounds:

    from http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/support/default.mspx

    To uninstall Internet Explorer 7 to return to Internet Explorer 6 on Windows XP

    1. Click “Start,” and then click “Control Panel.”
    2. Click “Add or Remove Programs.”
    3. Check “Show Updates” at the top of the dialog box.
    4. Scroll down the list and highlight the version of Internet Explorer 7 that you are running, and then click “Change/Remove.” (If you are running Internet Explorer 7 Beta 2 Preview — March 20 or later, it is not necessary to check “Show Updates.”)
    5. Go here and select the appropriate version of Internet Explorer 7 for your operating system.

    —-

    If that doesn’t work than these to links might help:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/304872/en-us

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/318378/en-us

  16. [...] Turns out I’m #2 on Google for “I Hate Internet Explorer 7” and #1 for “I Hate Explorer 7” (link to article) [...]

  17. Bridget said, on November 18, 2006 at 10:22 pm

    Auto download (since disabled) took over my slow-w-w dialup (live in country have no options) for several hours and installed IE7. A disaster. All controls on task bar were gone and useless junk inserted. The tabs might have been nice but because of the settings I couldn’t see the whole screen. Horrible, couldn’t fit on my screen, as if it were designed for a wide aspect ratio screen.I have bad eyesight and need to be able to control settings, and view button was gone! Finally found a size control on the lower right after much searching.Thankfully I was able to revert to IE6 without too much drama. I’ve now shut down auto update. I really hate to get behind in updates but there was just too much different (wrong?) with IE7 and no good instructions (as usual)for those of us who don’t deal with change kindly.

  18. engtech said, on November 19, 2006 at 3:51 am

    @bridget: Thanks for sharing your story.

    Good suggestion with turning off automatic updates. I don’t think anyone on dial-up should ever turn that on.

  19. Ivan Thomson said, on November 19, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    This is a no brainer;

    Firefox did IE7’s tricks years ago.

    Firefox 2 does them even better now.

    Firefox 2 runs rings around IE7 in terms of speed, stability and security.

    If anyone makes a case to use IE7 then either they are new to computer and have not yet used Firefox, they work for Microsloth, they are brain dead or they are the few lucky ones who’s OS and IE7 seem to work the way they should.

    Now you could extend this point to Linux (or OS X) versus Vista (or XP).

  20. engtech said, on November 19, 2006 at 8:22 pm

    Yeah, I saw that side-by-side comparison of how all the new display features in Vista can already be done in linux :)

  21. Sean said, on November 28, 2006 at 3:46 am

    I just upgraded (?) to IE 7 and it appears that all my bookmarks have disappeared. Have they, and if not, how do I find them ?

  22. Mike Burns said, on December 20, 2006 at 3:19 am

    The thing I hate most about IE7 was the removal of the text menus from the top of the screen. I have more than a screen’s worth of favorites, some organised into folders and can find them easily in 6 by clicking the Favorites text and there they all are, on top of the Web Page on display. Changing to 7 meant I clicked on the star and what a mess! A quarter of the Web screen disappeared and there didn’t appear to be any way to scroll down to the rest of my favorites. As for going down multiple levels of folders, forget it!
    Uninstalled it pronto and now back with 6. Didn’t like Firefox 1 either so I’ll probably stick with IE6 till I die.

  23. Fretsong said, on February 16, 2007 at 12:17 am

    Hi everyone!

    Leasing my software pssed me off, IE7 messing up my links folder and assigned icons for years of research pssed me off, and the general “guilty till we deem you a customer” garbage REALLY pssed me off – If I want to buy six drives ten motherboards and 20 vid cards it’s MY affair, and MS has no opinion in it. I’m simply deciding on which flavor of Linux will suite me best – build a second machine for MS-Blenders and games – and be done with it. I use my main system for business… Another fine deal, my rather expensive Office Professional 97 suite (paid for) will not work with XP – not that it’s a mystery that MS wants another 400 bucks for some re-arranged properties and updates. Yep, it’s open source time… My best to all of you :0)

  24. Fretsong said, on February 16, 2007 at 12:22 am

    P.S. Get FireFox, it’s clearly faster, the tools are awesome. AND you can make it look and feel any way you want. Don’t settle for an MS copy of Firefox, there’s no need for the layers of integration, the MS spyware, or the massive errors. Firefox does it all and them some, and some more. And they listen to the users, update and fix their browser – rather than posting clinical garbage and explanation. It’s a no brainer! Enjoy!

  25. Glass said, on April 06, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    An intern installed Firefox on some old terminal I’d use at work last year, and Firefox was slowing down the computer to a crawl. This made grow from ignoring Firefox to hating it. I don’t get why Firefox fanboys try to force everyone to use it. I’m tired of websites (like icompositions) that display some annoying message preaching this software to me. Why nobody mentions that?

    I’m not gonna install 2.0, but IE7 is already here and works like a charm.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

