// Internet Duct Tape

Unofficial software development cycle at Google

Posted in Google Calendar and Gmail, Programming and Software Development, Technology by engtech on September 30, 2006

I’m another one of those starry-eyed geeks who looks at Google with a moonstruck gaze and wishes I could work in a “developers, developers, developers“-centric company-slash-utopia. A rant like this one by Steve Yegge becomes a much treasured road map to the Holy Land.

I think I’m the last person on the Internet to read this (it’s at 141 comments so far), so tossing out a link is rather pointless… but I’ll do it anyways because

  • if you’re still at work at this point on a Friday afternoon you could probably use a well-written, humorous (if slightly long) rant and
  • if you’re not at work at this point then comparing your company to Google might be a great way increase your motivational mojo on a Monday morning (or maybe not).

Who is Stevey? He’s a former Amazon employee who now works at Google. I think Joel Spolsky sums it up best when he says:

“Recently I sat down with a long list of nominations [for the Best Software Writing 2] and worked through them. When I was done, I was extremely depressed to discover that there wasn’t enough material for a whole new book, and what I did find was 50% Stevey. It didn’t seem fair to give him half the book. “

>> How software teams work at Google or “Good agile, Bad Agile” from Steve’s blog

>> Stevey’s Drunken Blog Rants from when he used to work at Amazon

Like this post? You may also be interested in Google’s hiring strategy, and Blogging as Unofficial Corporate Representation.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Steve said, on September 30, 2006 at 6:08 pm

    You missed the really good Delevoper’s Video – the 3 minute version:

  2. engtech said, on September 30, 2006 at 6:35 pm

    Thanks!

  3. What’s up at //engtech « Beats Entropy said, on October 11, 2006 at 4:01 am

    [...] Obviously I have a huge hard-on for Google as I talk endlessly about them and froth at the mouth when one of the employees writes an eleventeen-hundred page essay on what it’s like to work at Google. [...]

  4. [...] Proprietary software will always win out because it can have a single-minded purpose and direction. Engineers and programmers have a tendency to reinvent the wheel at the drop of a hat, because “reinventing wheels” is what they enjoy. Even when reinventing the wheel will keep them from getting where they want to go. [3] [1] And also it’s strength. I’m not a complete idiot :) [2] Which is thankfully starting to improve. [3] This is even a problem at pro-developer environments like Google where management is finally starting to realize they have too many “hey, why I don’t I build this” under-developed applications compared to their strengths like Google Search and Gmail. [...]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

