// Internet Duct Tape

ScheduleWorld now supports automatic synching with Google Calendar

Posted in Google Calendar and Gmail, Links, Technology by engtech on September 18, 2006

Mark Swanson of ScheduleWorld has announced (giving us the scoop, no less!) that ScheduleWorld now supports automatic synching of GoogleCalendar.

This is pretty big news. He also mentions that everyone needs to update their settings because he no longer stores Google username/password information, instead he uses the Google authorization API.

He also mentions that you probably want to update your Funambol clients because of bugs that were fixed.


Comment by Mark Swanson — 2006/09/18

*** MAJOR ANNOUNCEMENT ***

Since this blogger was so nice and created a great diagram I’d like to announce here first that Google autosync is available now.

What does this mean? It means you can directly sync Outlook/BlackBerry/Evolution/etc.. directly to/from Google. You do not have to log in to the HTML client and manually click ‘Google Sync’ anymore.

Bonus: Since ScheduleWorld is the proxy for Google autosync your ScheduleWorld calendar/WebDAV/freebusy information is also kept in sync.

Simply go to your preferences page, enable Google autosync on your primary calendar and click ‘Save’.

Cheers.

Note: folks who were syncing with Google with a configured username/password will have to go to the preferences and sign up with the new method which doesn’t use a password. Since I no longer need anyone’s Google password I don’t even want them in the system.

I did have some issues with the Funambol plugin and the Funambol server in general. In the past few days I have released patches that seem to address the issues you mention. As I posted yesterday, I fixed a number of issues wrt Google sync as well. At the moment all problems should be resolved. If not, _please_ email me; I’ll get to it asap.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mark Swanson said, on September 18, 2006 at 8:16 pm

    I store the username as a convenience, actually. This helps with folks that want to use the ‘Find Calendars’ functionality – and based on the logs this is used a lot.

    Cheers.

  2. James said, on September 19, 2006 at 6:55 pm

    That’s awesome news.

    What version of the Funambol plugin should we be using?

  3. engtech said, on September 19, 2006 at 7:08 pm

    The version from the ScheduleWorld website.

  4. NoHolyGrail said, on October 09, 2006 at 7:30 pm

    Hi folks,

    I signed up for the ScheduleWorld service some days ago and just one day later I have to notice that someone got unauthorized access to my ScheduleWorld account via syncML. I realized that due to the fact that a new SyncML Device has been added to the list in the preferences section:

    This is the original reference in the preferences:
    “SyncML Device IMEI:0E100065BB8BEF5 ( Auto-added ) :”

    As you might see above the device is a mobile phone.

    This person should have known my password and account ID cause …
    – neither have I told anyone that I have this new account
    – nor have I synced it via a mobile phone cause I haven’t any mobile phone!

    I am really upset and concerned about this!

    I requested a comment/statement from the ScheduleWorld team via a prior posting in the forum with the consequence that my posting has been just deleted. No comment, no statement from the ScheduleWorld’s side! And this makes me really concerned!

    So dear users it’s up to you to make up your own opinion about this security issue!

    BR

    These two emails originated from the same service provider 82.103.128.0 – 82.103.143.255 EASYSPEEDY-NETWORK that has also been used by spammers. There is a chance they are not genuine.

  5. Qiv said, on October 10, 2006 at 8:16 pm

    Dto.

    @NoHolyGrail: Have you seen that the password is uncrypted in the preferences of ScheduleWorld section? :-(

    To upload my data to foreign server I would like to know which company is dealing with my data.
    So, I tried to get this information via a posting in the ScheduleWorld forum. I am sorry to tell you that I have made the same experience as “NoHolyGrail” my request for company’s information has been deleted! No answer, comment or anything else!

    Min. requirement would be an imprint at the ScheduleWorld website. Have you seen any company’s information? Is this a one-man-show?? Any feedback is highly appreciated.

    Against this background I will prefer other platforms until I get corresponding information!

    cu

    These two emails originated from the same service provider 82.103.128.0 – 82.103.143.255 EASYSPEEDY-NETWORK that has also been used by spammers. There is a chance they are not genuine.

  6. engtech said, on October 10, 2006 at 11:01 pm

    Please send an email to support@scheduleworld.com with any issues you are having. Mark is always very quick to respond.

  7. markswanson said, on October 10, 2006 at 11:42 pm

    BR: If you like, email support@ScheduleWorld.com your account info and someone will by happy to look into your security concerns.

    Qiv: The password is displayed as a convenience at the request of existing users. I agree that it should be changed so it’s not automatically in the clear. Added to the project plan.

    Others have asked for corporate info in the forums and I’ve answered. The info is on the website too. Anyone can get the same information about ScheduleWorld as they can any other private company through all of the usual means.

    If you still need more information email support@ScheduleWorld.com and someone will gladly assist you.

    Cheers.

  8. LookingForSync said, on October 15, 2006 at 2:09 am

    Hi all,

    I have posted 3 times in the ScheduleWorld forum with security critical questions, e.g. requesting more details about the company “ScheduleWorld”. In my opinion a simple imprint would be fine and a min. requirement.

    Consequence was that my postings has been deleted every time and my account has also been deleted.

    Is this normal?! This seems not really trustworthy to me :-(

  9. engtech said, on October 15, 2006 at 3:43 am

    Try contacting Mark at support@scheduleworld.com


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

