// Internet Duct Tape

Switching themes to Shocking Blue Green 1.0 by Chris M.

Posted in Internet Duct Tape News, Technology by engtech on September 06, 2006

I encountered another WordPress bug. This time the sidebar of Ocadia 1.1 was not displaying properly in Internet Explorer 6.

Rather than have my blog look weird until the bug is fixed, I’ll take the simpler solution of switching themes. I quite like Shocking Blue Green:

  • very clean looking
  • uses full browser width
  • demphasizes the category links on posts (that link back to wordpress.com instead of my site)
  • CSS looks good for all the tags I use
  • even matches the colours for my cat picture in the sidebar

I can’t stress how important it is to have a page lying around like this one where I have examples of all the HTML tags I commonly use. It makes theme selection much easier, because I can immediately test how my pages will look.

The only con I’ve seen so far is that it changes all of my titles so that they have “proper” capitalization. When I write “//engtech” that’s what I meant to say, not “//Engtech”.

Note for RSS readers: wordpress.com has a bug where RSS feeds are missing the “read more” indication. If my posts seem shorter than usual, that is why.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. engtech said, on September 06, 2006 at 10:41 pm

    I really love this new theme.

    This bug was the best thing that happened to my blog.

  2. roy said, on September 07, 2006 at 8:19 am

    I have personal hatred for the skinny single column templates. For people that have trouble seeing, I don’t like how when you zoom in, you end up getting a few words per line with much of the real estate of your screen wasted on both sides.

    This template is much better. Easier to read. And the colours are easy on the eyes.

  3. engtech said, on September 07, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    It’s a really good theme. No serious bugs, just minor things I can live with.

    I think my more minimal approach is work better as well. Less sidebar clutter, and I cut down the size of posts on the front page so there’s less scrolling.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

