// Internet Duct Tape

Nokia 6682 Review Part 1 of 5: Initial opinion

Posted in Gadgets, Technology by engtech on July 30, 2006

I got a new cellphone, and I’m going to talk about it to death. This is the first part of a five part series, and I think this is the best review you’ll find the Nokia 6682 cellphone because unlike all those other gadget/phone reviewers, I will be using this phone every day for the next two years (unless some other company wants to give me one for free). My expectations of what this phone can do are a higher because I’ll be using it day-to-day for the next two years.

In this part of the review I’ll be looking at:

  • migrating phone settings (contacts),
  • menu navigation,
  • and web surfing.

Full disclosure: I’m reviewing a new mobile phone I got for free from a marketing company in Toronto called matchstick.ca. They gave me a sweet package as well:

  • Nokia 6682 Phone with USB connector and charger
  • 512 MB memory upgrade
  • Bluetooth Headset
  • Extra headphones

Fortuitous timing, I needed a mobile upgrade. The Nokia 6682 replaces my Nokia 3595. I’ll be entering the modern world with photo/video/mp3 capabilities. The old 3595 had Java apps, web browsing and email, but they were cumbersome and ugly.

I’m not going to post a ridiculously long DPReview-styled analysis of the phone. The release date was over a year ago and that information is already widely disseminated. This will be a personal account of my experience with the Nokia 6682. For the detailed Nokia 6682 breakdown see Howard Chui’s review.

UPDATE 2006/09/09: Apparently I did do a ridiculously long DPReview-styled analysis of the phone.

Using the firmware version code of *#0000# I can see that it’s running firmware V 4.41.0 12-10-05 RM-58. A bit behind, V 4.62.0 is the latest.

Aside: I wish the Rogers web development team would get with the program and test their websites with Firefox and not Internet Explorer only. In Firefox, the Rogers webpage for the 6682 doesn’t list any of the phone details and barely lists any technical specs. Looks fine in IE. I’ve encountered this problem in many other places on the Rogers.com site.

 

Migrate Phone Settings

The first step in phone migration is always moving the SIM card from the old phone to the new phone. If you were already storing all your contact information in the SIM card, this is trivial. If you stored your contacts in the phone, you have to move that data to the SIM card. Check the manual for the old phone. I couldn’t find anything on the subject in mine.

For the Nokia 3595, I moved the contact settings by using:

Contacts >> Copy >> From Phone to SIM Card

This created some duplicate entries of contacts that were already on the SIM card, but I’ll fix that later. Hopefully by connecting the phone to the PC.

Before moving my SIM card to the new phone I double checked that all of the contact info was stored properly by setting it to use only the SIM card and then browsing the address book.

Contacts >> Settings >> Memory Use >> SIM Card Only

The glossy Quick Start Guide for the 6682 shows how to install the SIM card and memory expansion.

That was relatively painless*, but after booting the 6682 I encountered the first major obstacle. Too many features.

 

* Update: Because I’d put my SIM card didn’t have all my contacts the first time I put it in the phone it was more complicated. To copy the SIM card contacts to the 6682′s memory:

Menu >> Contacts >> Options >> SIM contacts >> Sim directory >> Options >> Mark/Unmark >> Mark All >> Options >> Copy to contacts

When I received incoming calls on the 3595, it would display the name in the contacts list. So far the 6682 is only displaying the number, and not the name in the contacts list. I’m hoping I find the setting to change this, because it is a Deal Breaker.

Update: Edward in the comments pointed out that it won’t display a name if you have multiple contacts associated with that number (which can happen when transferring your phone contacts). Deleting the duplicates fixes this.

 

Navigating the Menues

There are 13 different top level menu items. The quick start guide is handy enough to point out how to take pictures, print pictures, hot key applications, and play MP3s. What about: “How do I access my phone settings?” Vibrate on, ringer off, please.

Nokia 6682 is a “Multimedia phone” with capital M and a lowercase p. Phone settings are counter-intuitively under the last menu item called “Tools”. Tucking phone settings away does make sense because they won’t be used often, but making them hard to find is an entry barrier for new users. It doesn’t help that with the default Nokia phone theme, the Tools button use an un-themed folder option.

General Pet peeve: Software and electronic gadgets should include a sitemap-like document that shows menu hierarchies.

One nice feature is that I can create a custom menu of the applications I use. This will be very necessary as the default menu layout is horrible and it requires half a dozen keystrokes to do anything.

 

Surfing the Net on the Go

One thing that throws me is Rogers’ data cost per kilobyte. The Nokia 6682 is an EDGE phone with 236 kb/s data rates. Rogers rates for consumers without a specific plan is $0.05 per kb. A monthly plan is 1 MB for $7, with $0.02 a kb after that. So if I hit max data through put it would cost $11.50 a second? Jesus.

Even the WordPress Mobile page that shows me nothing but page view stats is 4 kb / $0.20 on the Rogers network. I’m embarrassed to say how many times I check it in one day.

It’s apples versus oranges, but the same company offers 100 GB / $58 using cable modems. There must be something I don’t understand (other than the high cost of setting up a wireless network), because the cost per kilobyte is too high. They are keeping a new business area from taking off with a data cost ratio like that.

Update: High mobile internet cost is a problem all over Canada. Hint: drop data rate costs and number of people buying the latest/greatest phones will go up. People want to surf YouTube while they wait on the bus.

The Nokia 6682 is a mobile phone that is as fast as a many high speed internet connections, but the data cost rate is 86,000 times more expensive. I don’t think I’ll be using it for true instant mobile blogging any time soon.

 

But these are a list of things I am going to try with it:

  • Autosync movie times/reviews and weather (use to do it with an old Palm Pilot, saving the data as text files).
  • Autosync Google Calendar at home.
  • Autosync Office calendar at work.
  • Autosync phone contacts with Gmail contacts.
  • Try photoblogging with Flickr.
  • Java games / apps.
  • Find freeware themes.
  • Try unlocking it (a cursory web search indicates that it’s nigh impossible to unlock the 6682)
  • Upgrade the firmware

Other posts in this series

Related posts

Previous Posts

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. blaine said, on July 31, 2006 at 6:28 pm

    I have the same issue with the incoming calls not always displaying the matching name in the phonebook. It works for some, but not all. I think it has to be in a certain format as well.I’ve reformatted everything to be +14165551234 format. Also, you can “apply” the incoming number to update an existing contact in the hopes they’ll match in the future. Please let me know if you solve this one.

    How are you going to do your autosync of movie times? I had some palmpilot software to do this on my palm. I’d like to have something similar via bluetooth to my computer and then store on my phone. It would be great to read webpages offline on my phone. I haven’t seen anything like that, but hopefully it’s possible.

    I found some free Nokia themes. This one I installed: http://tinyurl.com/jzjky

    Haven’t found any free games/apps though.

    Looking forward to remaining parts 2-5 of your review.

  2. mycoliseum said, on August 03, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    Hi there

    I like the way you illustrated your experience with 6682. Its very informative.

    Nokia 6682 is a synergy of style and advanced technology. I think after 6230 its the the one for style lovers and businessmen. I was using 6230 when I decided to switch to it. I must say, Its far better, in terms of multimedia support, Word and PowerPoint applications.

    You mentioned trying:
    Autosync Google Calendar at home.
    Autosync Office calendar at work.
    Autosync phone contacts with Gmail contacts

    To sync your phonebook and office calendar, try zyb.com. Its a free services that allows you to backup and share your phone data online. Read this article http://www.gizmag.co.uk/go/5797/ for an overview.

  3. Edward said, on August 05, 2006 at 1:12 pm

    Okay here’s your problem – if a number appears in your phone twice, the phone instead of displaying one of the names associated will just display the number. Now it seems to me that you have contact details on the SIM and in the phone memory, for some people at least.

    This is the problem. I hope this helps!

  4. engtech said, on August 05, 2006 at 6:21 pm

    That makes perfect sense. The phone gets confused about which one to display. Although how hard is it to “Display first found”?

    I verified that deleting duplicate phone numbers fixes the problem.

    Thanks!

  5. [...] Part 1: Initial Opinion [...]

  6. [...] Part 1: Initial Opinion [...]

  7. [...] In my first post in this series I mentioned that one of my goals was automatic synching of: [...]

  8. [...] Nokia 6682 Review Part 1 of 5: Initial opinion [...]

  9. The Dirge of iPod « //engtech said, on September 19, 2006 at 5:24 pm

    [...] There’s an interesting prediction that 2006 is the year that the iPod will die (followed up by some immediate backpedaling — it’s really just contentious link bait). I have a Nokia 6682 (2005 release, review starts here) with half a gig of memory. While I have used it for listening to music, it hasn’t come close to replacing my 4th generation 40 GB iPod. Here are the reasons: [...]

  10. austin said, on September 21, 2006 at 3:18 am

    i want to no where i cab sign up for the cell phone

  11. [...] Nokia 6682 Review Part 1: Initial Opinion, Part 2: Software Applications, Part 3: Contacts, Camera, Headset, Part 4: Freeware Applications [...]

  12. Charley Ven said, on February 19, 2007 at 10:17 am

    I have a question about this particular phone… Even though I deleted my pictures from the gallery, have two songs downloaded, two text messages, WHY DOES MY PHONE SAY TO DELETE MORE PHONE DATA? WHY DOESN’T SAVE LAST CALLS? HOW DO YOU DELETE PHONE MEMORY WHEN IT’S NOT AN OPTION ON YOUR PHONE?

  13. engtech said, on February 19, 2007 at 10:44 am

    @Charley: Go to the nokia 6682 freeware page and grab TaskSpy and FExplorer. They’ll let you really see what’s going on.

  14. [...] my Nokia 6682 phone they recommended the car charger, USB sync cable and Bluetooth headset. The phone already comes [...]

  15. [...] go wrong. That’s when I remembered something I wrote in a blog post about how their UI design wouldn’t have hit the ground if someone had just drawn it out and realized that it takes 10 us…. I looked up at the projected mind map on the wall and I realized that I was looking at the perfect [...]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

