// Internet Duct Tape

WP bug with deleting posts.

Posted in Asides, Technology, WordPress.com Tips by engtech on June 14, 2006

Well, I found another WordPress bug and consequently wiped out a post that had taken me a while to put together.

Right underneath "Add trackbacks" where you would expect a submit button is the delete button.

WP eats my post 1

If you hit the "Delete Post" button you will be prompted with a dialog box that says "Are you sure you want to delete that post? [OK] [CANCEL]"

WP eats my post 2
If you choose cancel it gives you a *second* prompt "Are you sure you want to do that? [No] [Yes]".

WP eats my post 3
Of course, I'm thinking "Yes, I'm sure I want to cancel deleting that post".

This is also the same dialog that you see when ever you publish an editted post, so it isn't unreasonable to think it's not doing something harmful.

Unfortunately, the second query seems to be asking you again if you want to delete that post, as you are quickly present with a blank page.

WP eats my post 4

I'll keep this updated as to whether or not it was possible to recover the post. My glance at the WP interface doesn't seem to show any kind of undelete option. I'm glad they recently put in an Import/Export feature so that it is possible to make personal backups every now and then. It's too late now, but definitely something I'm going to start doing for the future.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. engtech said, on June 15, 2006 at 9:34 am

    Hi there,

    I’m sorry to tell you that your post was deleted and is unrecoverable.
    The Cancel button was indeed bugged and I have resolved that bug.
    Thanks very much for your accurate report.

    I am also pushing for some context to be added to the Are You Sure
    pages so that their meaning cannot be ambiguous.

    Cheers,
    Andy

  2. [...] The day after I wrote this I discovered a bug with the WordPress "delete post" button. [...]

  3. [...] Regular readers may already have realized that I’m a WordPress.com fan boy. Anyone who has come from Blogspot will tell you how good things are over here (not that there isn’t the occasional problem – I’m the reason the Delete Post button turns red when you hover over it). I don’t post about every new feature that hits wordpress.com, but I thought people might be interested in finding out more about the latest paid upgrade from the point of view of someone who’s using it.Wordpress.com introduced Domain Registration and Mapping this week (Raincoaster got the first one). The price is reasonable at $10 USD/year for domain mapping or $15 USD/year for domain mapping and registration — and it fits in with their business model of world-class hosting for free with premium upgrades for power users. Some friends and I had been talking about getting beatsentropy.com for several months and our laziness paid off with a much simpler solution. [...]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

